We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Campobello, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Room was older but it had been well maintained and updated. It was quite clean and comfortable. Not enough outlets in the room and the a/c was slightly noisy but that is being picky. Overall it was great for the price and it is in an excellent location. Breakfast was fine. Staff was friendly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate the feedback we get from our guests on forums such as this one.

As we share these reviews with our staff, I am certain that they will be very excited to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for the review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    236
    83
    45
    35
See reviews for
221
265
40
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was very nice, the beds were comfortable, but the bathroom. Very outdated, not much room. Did not like the bathroom counter being almost on top of the toliet. It was hard enough for a large person to be comfortable on the toliet, I can't image a small person on it. Other than that, not bad for the money I guess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry you found the bathroom in your outdated. We are currently in the planning phase of addressing that area of our operation and I am certain that comments such as yours will be used in the planning.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We traveled to Charleston with our son and his family. I ask for adjoining rooms, but wasn't sure if that would be possible since it was Labor Day weekend. But our request was granted and we had a great stay. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked very clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rates reasonable. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank for you for taking the time to share your comments. We really do appreciate the feedback we get from our guests as it allows us to concentrate our efforts at improvement.

I am sure our staff will be very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. They strive to insure that every guest enjoys their visit with us as well as their trip to Charleston.

Again, thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Charleston to visit with family members. This was our first time at Sweetgrass Inn (9/6 to 9/10) and were very impressed with the friendly and accommodating front desk staff, the lady who managed the breakfast area and fixed our blueberry waffles, the size and cleanliness of our room, the free high speed internet, the immaculate condition of the entire property, and the quiet location of hotel about five minutes from the historic district and College of Charleston. Our favorite things about the hotel: Excellent continental breakfast with fruit and full strength orange juice.......and the beautifully landscaped and large interior courtyard swimming pool. Even made a point of purchasing a swim suit and used the pool on two occasions.

We saved about $60 per day by staying at the Sweetgrass and were actually more comfortable than on the several occasions we have stayed in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a great view and there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate the feedback.

I am sure our staff will enjoy reading that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks for the comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While it ain't the lap of luxury, it's what you'd expect from a suburban older Best Western property. The layout is a few large 2 story buildings with exterior entryways and free parking right outside the ground level rooms. There's a pool in the central area (I didn't use it). There is a complimentary breakfast with good choices included waffles, although not the prettiest seating area. They had ice machines and coin operated laundry machines. The rooms were kind of 80's looking but were totally functional, had free cable and wifi, and free shampoo and conditioner. The staff was friendly.

It's not really near downtown. Way beyond walking distance. It was about a 5-10 drive. Add another 10 minutes if it's rush hour.

If you don't mind the distance and okay if it's not the Ritz, it's a good property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. We really do appreciate the feedback we receive from forums such as this one.

As we share these reviews with our staff, I am sure they will be very happy to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I love the rooms... very spacious. comfortable beds, big outdoor pool with pool toys and plug ins for my convenience. good location. welcoming lobbyists. very clean. and very pleased.........................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We really do appreciate feedback from our guests; its one of the tools we use to improve our efforts.

I am sure our staff will be very happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have loved staying here....It was very clean and the staff is extremely helpful! I was also glad to see that the management read these reviews and responds that tells me that they care. Breakfast is great too! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate it.

Your comments have been posted where our staff can read them; I am sure they will be very to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.