We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, inviting and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Charming, inviting and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great price through Triple A had me finally making the decision to choose this hotel over a Holiday Inn (Mills House). I researched MANY hotels and wasn't so sure about a "Best Western". This is nothing like the one I have stayed in before (I usually go towards Marriott chain). When making the reservation, I was asked if the stay was for a special occasion and I told the desk clerk that it was my anniversary. We arrived in Charleston at 11:30 (the garage is right before the hotel not after you see the sign, so it's a quick right turn into parking), let the front desk clerk know that we were there, he told us we had been upgraded to a Junior King Suite (I had reserved a King Superior?), told us happy anniversary, and he took our cell number to call us when room was ready.

After our carriage ride, we were called to let us know our room was ready. The walk to the hotel is about ten minutes, if that, to market street. This hotel reminds me of a boutique (like so many others have stated). It is a perfect location! Free Wifi and parking. AND we were given big bag of cookies with an anniversary card welcoming us to Charleston. It's the littlest things that go along way! We ate breakfast out, so I can't comment on the buffet. Our suite was on the corner so we had huge windows all around (brightly lit). It was clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable. The bar area is very relaxing. The pool is 5-7 feet, not large, but it is there on hot days! Cookies waiting at the end of the day. Coffee and tea available. Front desk clerks always helpful and happy.

If there is a downside, it would be that there was a lot of outside noise being on the corner of the hotel (at the intersection where the light is). I have a hearing loss so I tend to hear things (the little things that I notice) MORE than my husband does. He obviously has learned to tune those little things out. What I noticed is at night (after eleven pm) when falling asleep, the traffic died down. But when it started back up again (five am or so Friday morning), I could really hear the cars revving the engines from a stop to start position at that light (it would have been less noisy for me if that light wasn't there!). Again, this meant nothing to my husband. He simply didn't notice it. And I would take the upgrade to the suite any day of the week! Lots of room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Congratulations on your Anniversary weekend! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn to spend this special occasion! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    434
    102
    40
    25
See reviews for
334
786
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

First trip to the Charleston area, won't be our last, chose the King Charles Inn based on positive reviews and location, as well as value, Won't repeat all others have said but I will say that I have neve experienced customer service from all levels of staff as I have at this hotel. Special thanks to Maureen and Molly for the great advice on sites and restaurants. Look forward to a future stay there

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Charleston! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Once again we stayed at the King Charles Inn and it was wonderful as usual. We arrived really early around 1:30 but our room was ready, so we were able to check in. Check-in was fast and the front desk clerk was helpful and offered to help in any way he could. Our room was clean and I can't say enough about the comfort of the beds. The best hotel beds I've ever slept on. We were only a few doors down from the elevator and bar area, but seriously we never heard any noise. The convenience of the free parking, the short walk to restaurants and the market, make this hotel the perfect place to stay. We ate breakfast both mornings in the hotel and the food was very good. The food compares very well to any high end restaurant. The ladies working in the dining room were helpful and friendly. The 2nd day, the hotel manager came around introducing herself and offering helpful suggestions. You leave the King Charles feeling like a valued customer. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a great place to stay. Great location and very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Beautiful bathrooms. Nice pool. Easy to walk around the city. The afternoon cocktails and appetizers is a nice bonus -- so is the free parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the KIng Charles Inn and was able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary parking, great location and awesome service! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel was fabulous. From its location in the historic district on Meeting st. we could walk to everything. The hotel was well maintained, beautifully decorated and parking was free which was a bonus. It is the best Best western hotel I have ever stayed in. I felt like I was in a very expensive boutique hotel. Also it is one block away form Charleston Place, Charleston's most expensive hotel. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I hope when you return to Charleston you become one of our many King Charles Inn fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hood,va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I went to Charleston to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and selected the King Charles Inn as our hotel and we are both glad we did. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions about sightseeing options and resturants.
The hotel has happy hour from 4:30 to 7:00 with complementry fruit and cheese, and the bartender was also helpful with suggestions on resturants.

The room was clean and comfortable with a refrigerator and a safe to keep our valuables in while we were out for the day. The location was perfect and once we parked our car we did not move it again until we checked out. We were within walking distence to everything we wanted to see and do.

We would recommed this as the perfect place to stay if you are planning on seeing Charleston. Our stay was the best!!!! Thank you for all you did to make our stay delightful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
What a raving review! Thank you for sharing with others! The King Charles Inn is like a hidden gem with its free parking, great location and super staff! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I agree with the previous reviews - great location and lovely hotel. Slightly dark room but that's the nit-picking. Free parking and wifi. Nice breakfast - don't go to Cafe Cafe nearby. Would strongly recommend this hotel for a trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I am glad you mentioned you enjoyed our breakfast. There are not many places downtown that are open for breakfast and provide a full buffet under $10 like we do; I am so glad you were able to take advantage of it and start your day off right! Thanks again! La iontach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.