We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Berlin, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I loved the King Charles Inn. Our room (junior suite) was spacious and beautiful. The manager's reception was a nice time to relax. The hotel manager made a point of greeting all the guests and giving dinner/tour recommendations, which we really appreciated. The front desk staff were also very helpful - even finding a place for my over stressed husband to have a massage! The location is perfect. We could walk to everything. Very close to the Market and to King's Street. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the King Charles Inn. I am so excited to hear you and your husband not only enjoyed Charleston but also "relaxed"during your stay! That is what vacation is all about! Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    467
    109
    41
    25
See reviews for
354
850
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexingotn, Ky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The staff in this very conveniently located hotel were wonderful. Very friendly and informative. Also, furnishing were nice, manager's reception and freshly baked cookies in the evening were an added bonus. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Thank you for sharing your compliments about the King Charles Inn! It's the little things we do that create such a nice experience. I am so glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The staff at the KCI are among the best. The doorman went out of his way to make sure we had a pleasant experience. To a yankee it can seem at times that the service is a little slow, but you really don't notice this in the midst of the Southern Hospitality. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
At the King Charles Inn, our staff aims to please every guest, every day! Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panuch7
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

It's very refreshing to stay somewhere where people still believe in customer service. Everything I asked for was taken care of with a smile. I felt like the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Thanks for taking the stress out of my trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the King Charles Inn! I will certainly share your wonderful feedback with my staff! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

hotel service really does not get better then this. The staff is more than friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless and is conviently located within a 2 block radius of the market. We have stayed at this hotel several times and they just keep getting better and better. they have their own parking area so you can literally park your car and not have to drive until you are ready to go home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Thank you for being repeat guests. Your business is so important to us! I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the King Charles Inn! Location + great service always equals a wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel was great. The people working there were very helpful and friendly. In addition to the good location, you have full access to the full gym next door.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others! It means alot to us to have you rave about the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hearts in Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We had the honor to stay during South Eastern Wildlife weekend. We have never been treated so well! The staff fell over themselves to help us brave the odd weather! The room was beautiful and spotless. The bed was so nice we over-slept. Breakfast was a fantastic start. We have never found value like this under $300.
Bravo King Charles, Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingCharlesGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
I am so glad our staff made you feel special! That weekend is so busy in Charleston but always so much fun! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.