We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off in February
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Downtown Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights during our anniversary trip to Charleston. This place has great reviews and did not disappoint. We were originally booked for two nights but a week prior to arrival I had called to extend an additional night with no issues. Upon the day of arrival we were greeted by everyone including the bellman which makes for a great initial impression.

Parking is a little tight as most people do not utilize their cars during the trip but always managed to find a spot. It is also free which is a bonus vs other hotels in areas. The room itself was clean and inviting. We had a king bed and the rooms did feel cozy as mentioned in other reviews but plenty comfortable. The only complaint I have is the pillows were way too soft for both myself and the wife. Also, there is a bit of construction going on at and nearby the hotel which was quite loud when sleeping in.

The pool is small yet never had an issue finding a lounger. The drink service was also quite nice as well and reasonably priced for a hotel bar. Make sure to take advantage of $1 off during HH along with complimentary cheese & crackers. I even had an opportunity to meet the GM Maureen while I was sitting on the patio having a cocktail. She was very friendly to speak with and it was apparent the customer feedback was very important to her.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying downtown. It is in a great location and allows easy walking to most restaurants/bars/shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tturaider07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is centrally located, in fact the free bus around town stops just across the street. Even though it was very hot while we were there, we didn't use the pool it is very small. That was a disappointment after our hotel in Savannah with a beautiful pool. My only complaint was that when I booked the rooms we were quoted 1 price for a tour package that included the boat to Fort Sumter, a horse pulled wagon tour and a gift certificate towards dinner. Unfortunately I didn't notice the price for the package was more than double what I was quoted until we were checking out. Management's response to my questioning was you signed the papers when you arrived, which I had. So with this hotel - buyer beware! Check you paperwork when you arrive very well. Disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingsisterPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I sincerely apologize for any confusion with the Experience Package when booking. Please know that the components of the package themselves are almost $100. It included the Carriage Ride tickets, Ft. Sumter tickets and $25 Restaurant Gift Certificate + the discounted Room Rate. I appreciate your nice compliments about the hotel and hope you enjoyed Charleston.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me personally.
Maureen Sheridan
General Manager (843) 723-7451
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. We loved the location as it is so close to everything you need in the historic area of Charleston. The employees were top notch. The rooms were very clean. The pool was great as it was very hot the 2 days we were there. I would definitely recommend The King Charles Inn to anyone planning a trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! I appreciate your positive feedback and will certainly share your Housekeeping compliments with my staff! Thank you again and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The location is pretty great, the hotel rooms are clean and the pool is nice.

But don't let the pretty picture fool you, even with the nice facade it's still a Best Western hotel.

The staff is professional enough,but not overly helpful. The rooms are pretty small and the hallways are very dim and grungy.

Our experience wasn't bad. But, between their online pics and the online concierge they offer their visitors, prior to the visit, I just expected more.

Important to note, while the 2 double beds easily fit my family of four (2 in each bed), there simply isn't enough space in the room for the four of us (2 kids and 2 adults) to move around comfortably.

As long as you go in expecting nothing beyond what you would get at your standard Best Western hotel visit, you'll be fine. Looking for more? Go somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drcortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the candid review. I am disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations. I am glad however, you found our hotel to be clean and were able to take advantage of our great location in the Historic District. Thank you and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at the King Charles Inn in Charleston several times and each visit has been an excellent experience. Our trip this year involved family with 3 rooms and the staff went out of the way to make sure we were located close to each other. Everything about our visit there was a great experience.

Room Tip: Very close to the market and lots of excellent restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Can't say enough about our stay! We felt welcome from the time we pulled up until we packed up. The staff was so accommodating, the manager is all hands on, everyone goes the extra mile to make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable with extra touches. The location could not be better. We originally were booked for 1 night, left the area, and then returned for an additional 2 days, wish we could have stayed longer, you can't miss with this one!

Room Tip: Construction adjoining building, ask for room on opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! I realize there are many other hotel options in Charleston, South Carolina so I wanted to personally thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! I also appreciate you telling others about your visit! Have a super day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 young kids and found it was an awesome location. Walking distance to market and shopping. With a stroller in hand we even walked to the waterfront. On site parking was great. Free internet was great. The pool is very small but it is a perk it is here. Lemon water down by the pool. The pool is overlooked by the bar/restaurant if that bothers you. It is down the block from jestine's, hayman's, toast, lots of restaurants. Bathrooms were nice and spacious although rooms were a little tight. Can't tell you how many times we ran into the big footboard at the end of the bed.

Major stain on the comforter but otherwise clean. Bellman at the door was always quick to open the door and welcome you back in. Concierge helped us to secure one reservation at an average restaurant. Front desk seemed a bit stumped on a kid friendly restaurant so you might want to research some things on your own! Great location and charm:)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the honest feedback! I take our guest comments very seriously and though it pains me to hear of your Front Desk and Housekeeping experience, I see this as an opportunity to learn and grow. I will certainly share this with my staff. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing