We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME LOCATION, SERVICE AND ROOM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“AWESOME LOCATION, SERVICE AND ROOM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and had an amazing experience! Free Parking, GREAT location to City Market and King Street were very helpful. Check-in was smooth and friendly. Rooms were clean, just remodeled and were semi-spacious and tastefully decorated. The refrigerator in the room was a bonus! Richard the bellman remembered our names for the whole stay! Quite Impressive! They offer a happy hour every night with drink specials and complimentary cheese and crackers...nice touch! I would definitely return to this hotel for its location and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
WOW! It sounds like you had a fantastic stay in Charleston! Thank you for the nice compliments and especially recognizing Richard...he is a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    499
    123
    44
    29
See reviews for
379
906
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. The king room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and clean. It is located just about 3 blocks from the City Market. Easy walking to most sites. The hotel offers a limited menu in its cafe in the morning and a cocktail hour in the afternoon. Pleasant and relaxing. Staff was efficient and cordial. The Sticky Fingerrs restaurant across the street was great for lunch. Also, we had a great dinner at Muse, only 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful location and especially our service! I hope you can return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked into this hotel because it had one of the highest ratings from TripAdvisor. It was OK, but not worth the laurels it got in the ratings. The doorman was enthusiastic and professional and we hoped would have set the tone for the rest of the stay. The bar service and atmosphere was more akin to a college sports bar. When the final bill came it did not agree with the confirmation we had when booking. The correction was made without question, but if I hadn't scrutinized it, it would have gone through.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectation. I appreciate your honest feedback and will certainly share your comments regarding the billing with my front office staff. I apologize for the less than pleasant stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice place to sleep! We stayed for two nights. Breakfast is very good and mine was complimentary!! Very clean. No views, but that's ok. It is in walking distance to all the places you might wish to go. It was a very enjoyable visit and the food was so good. We ate at husk and snob!! Excellent!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! I am glad to hear you enjoyed not only our hotel but some of our favorite restaurants! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reevesville sc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Best Western King Charles Inn in Charleston. Have visited the inn several times before, and as always, was not disappointed. The location in the historic district is within walking distance of the beautiful waterfront, great restaurants, shopping & so many historic sights. Rooms are comfortable & clean. (Beds are really comfortable!) Staff is always so friendly & make you feel at home with each visit. They are also ready to help with info on tours, restaurants, shopping, etc. My husband & I also like the offer of free parking onsite, without all the hassle of valet parking. And on the day of checkout, which is 11:00 AM, your parking pass is valid until 4:00 PM which allows a last little bit of shopping or visit to your favorite restaurant before hitting the road for home. Highly recommend the King Charles. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoy the king rooms featuring a balcony & rocking chairs. Even though the balcony overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your business! Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TRipAdvisor! We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T.C., CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good location near restaurants, etc. GREAT beds AND showers, very quiet adjoining rooms (on second floor), wonderful bar and lobby --
Would definitely stay here again!
Only downside was one of the beds had sheets that were obviously soiled, but the front desk clerk late at night remedied the problem and management credited our bill $100

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issue. Our Assistant Manager did share this with our team and they are not only embarrassed but disappointed to hear of this incident. I am glad we were able to recover and that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRMO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first visit since the renovations. We loved the changes and enjoyed our stay very much. It is cenerally located to the historical area of Charleston. Many shop, restaurants and shopping areas are within walking distance. We always enjoy staying at the King Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! We certainly enjoy hosting both local Colleges: the Citadel and the College of Charleston teams and fan base! I hope you enjoyed your stay and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.