We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, nice price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to explore Charleston. Everything is either walking distance or an easy hop on the shuttle which has a stop in front of the hotel. The rooms were quiet, and the bar was a nice place to have a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get something toward the back, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am just thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in Charleston! Yes, our location cannot be beat but hearing you brag about the new Bar puts the icing on the cake! BREW Pub just opened a few weeks ago and I am glad you found this relaxing at the end of the night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    882
    381
    89
    39
    23
See reviews for
305
709
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinson, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at the King Charles Inn in 2010. I mentioned a couple of problems in a survey and received an immediate response from the manager who offered me a discounted rate on a future visit. When we decided to return to the area during the July 4th week, I contacted the manager to ask if the discount offer was still available. Once again, I received an immediate response with an offer of a reasonable rate. Upon our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to be advised our room had been upgraded to a balcony suite. We also had a personal note from the manager in our room thanking us for the return visit. The staff were helpful, friendly, and professional. The room was kept immaculate and well-stocked. The hotel is only a block from the famous Hyman's Seafood and only one block from King Street and wonderful local and national retailers. Parking is tight, and guests may be asked to park across Meeting Street if the lot adjacent to the hotel is full, but it is FREE. For the royal treatment, stay at the King Charles Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Meeting Street, if available.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard practices for towel replacement. I would recommend offering recycling of aluminum cans, plastic bottles, and newspaper.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the chance to redeem ourselves! Your business is so important to us and we strive to make sure everyone enjoys their visit. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Welcoming and helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and clean. The reception staff recommended several nice places for dinner. The availability of parking was a definite plus. The location is great for sight seeing. I would happily stay here again if I travel to Charleston again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor! We certainly enjoy reading all the nice compliments especially the ones about our helpful staff and the hotel cleanliness! We take such great pride in our hotel, thank you for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A nice hotel in Charleston. We had our two kids with us and they had a ball. A nice outdoor pool and within walking distance of a lot of activities in the city. We hope to return to Charleston soon and will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Super excited to hear your children enjoyed the hotel and especially the pool! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Friendly staff and helpful in guiding us to great shopping and dining. The hotel is within walking distance to all the places we wanted to go. Very clean room, tastefully decorated, very comfortable bed. The pillows were too soft for our comfort. The bathroom vanity was small, but we would stay here again! Free parking as well. Thanks to everyone who took care of us during our stay there. You all are great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words with others! It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

the staff here was fantastic ... the room was good, location was great....the only thing i didnt enjoy was the pool is very small its more for kids ... the place was clean ,,i had no problems and would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel with others! We appreciate your business and hope you can visit again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Charleston. After reading reviews here I booked this hotel.

It is every wonderful thing that is said here, and I found nothing to complain about.

We were allowed to check in a bit early by the front desk upon our arrival, which was very nice seeing we had been up since 4:00 am. When we arrived at our room (228) there was a half bottle of Sparkling Wine and chocolates accompanied by a hand written note from the management to greet my husband whose birthday we were celebrating. It was a very nice touch. The room we reserved, which is not available on their online site, is an oversized room with a shared balcony. The room was very large, had a king size bed, and was at the corner part of the shared balcony so there was a private area just for us, yes our neighbors could have walked around onto our portion but they did not. There were two rocking chairs for us to sit upon. The room was furnished with two chairs and ottomans, plus a high coffee table, a desk, plus two night stands and a entertainment unit that had a safe, small refrigerator and extra drawers for our belongings. There is a Keurig coffee maker as well. There was also an ample closet for our hanging clothes. The room was very clean and the pillows were extra fluffy. The bathroom had a combo shower/tub, vanity area with single sink, lights above mirror and a lighted vanity mirror.
The hotel offers full concierge service which we used a couple of times, and there is daily breakfast, but we did not partake of this, nor did we join in the fun of the "happy hour" held every day from 4:00 to 6:00.
The location of this hotel is also just wonderful for lots of exploring of the downtown area. It's just a couple of blocks off of "King Street" which is where a load of shopping can be found, just up the street from the "Open Air Market" and within walking distance to Battery Park and the bay front area. We were able to navigate easily around and since we are walkers found it to be really convienent to everything.
Being a hotel "snob" of sorts I was very wary of a "Best Western" but I am so thrilled to have stayed and enjoyed this great place. I would recomment it and room 228 to every person I know.

Room Tip: Ask about the "larger balcony rooms" not listed on their website - Room 228 is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! We sincerely appreciate your glowing review! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, GCommerce Solutions, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.