We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Things we loved about this hotel-Location, nice bathrooms, energetic, friendly, helpful staff.
The only complaint was the mattress. Probably time to replace, very saggy. However, would stay here again.
Just a heads up, the view in half of the rooms is to the parking lot. However, it was fine. Lots of light, comfortable, and pretty room. It's not the Ritz, but very enjoyable! This area is not about the view, it is about the location, easy to walk everywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your awesome feedback with others. Thank you for choosing our hotel. By the way, I will email you regarding the sagging mattress. They are all brand new so I will have maintenance check the "slats" to make sure they did not move under the bed. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We should have noticed this. Sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    381
    87
    39
    23
See reviews for
303
706
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the King in the last 4 months. We returned to a remodeled sitting area along with the bar and lounge and we were not disappointed. General Manager Maureen Sheridan had a handwritten welcome note waiting for us when we got to our room which was very nice (so was the pecan caramel...thanks). I have traveled to many places and hotels and I must say that the staff at the King Charles is outstanding. Everything other reviewers say to the positive is true. It is within walking distance to so many restaurants and tourist spots, or you can catch a cab or pedicab and be at your destination in minutes. And if you check other hotels in the area, you will appreciate the free and close parking at this hotel. I loved the shower with it's hand held sprayer/shower head. Love the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, the Manager's Reception and Happy Hour everyday in the bar, and the breakfast menu of on site prepared selections. Everything was clean and fresh. And our mattress was much improved from our last stay.
Everyone at this hotel is friendly and accommodating to the extreme right down to our housekeeper. All of this made our second visit to Charleston quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 215. The window view is of the driveway from the parking lot. It was quiet, near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We just love our Repeat Guests! Thank you so much for your loyalty. This really means a lot to us! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great hotel in an excellent location. We loved the free parking! The total cost of our stay seemed very reasonable compared to the rates of other hotels near the same location. All the staff members were always very friendly and accomodating. Our room was clean and had a lot of little details that I enjoyed -- the "clean remote", safe, mini-refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, granite countertops, and (my favorite!) a lighted makeup mirror. My husband and I stayed in a queen room and it was fairly small, but it was spacious enough for us. I know the hotel offers larger rooms at an increased rate. The beds were not the most comfortable I've slept in and the air conditioning unit was a little noisy, but these were minor inconveniences. Overall, I was very impressed with the King Charles Inn and would stay at this hotel again in the future. Highly recommend to other travelers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for noticing the value you receive at the King Charles Inn! The little things sometime go unnoticed! Our guests just love the new Keurig Coffee makers in the guest rooms and of course the Gilchrist and Soames! Thanks again and we hope you can return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Exceptional and attentive staff that anticipated my needs. Charmed by the decor and fine details. Granite vanity counter tops. Great location: the market, Marion square, and historic sites in walking distance. Very clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your wonderful feedback with others! We sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the staff was fantastic from the front desk to the bellmen. maids and bar staff. Great recommendations for things to do and dinner reservations. Enjoyed the recommended carriage ride and pedecab ride to dinner.The room was very clean and very comfortable . The location on Meeting St. is walking distance to Bars restaurants and shopping .Had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging my staff! They just love recommending favorite places to see, local dining spots and great tours! It is so fulfilling to hear your enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your valued business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A great spot in Charleston. About 3/4 of a mile from the water and right in the heart of the restaurant and shopping area. Hotel has recently been updated and is impeccably clean. Every member of the staff was very friendly, accommodating and loaded with great advice about the area (where to eat, where not to eat, what to see). Rooms are average size, pool is small but very nice and the same with the breakfast area/bar. If you want a quick breakfast before heading out it is a good choice. Everything about our stay here was very positive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am so glad you noticed our newly renovated hotel! Not only are the guest rooms and lobby new but BREW Pub and Café is a welcome addition! We have had nothing but rave reviews! Thank you for your nice comments regarding my staff and especially the hotel cleanliness. This is so important to me! Have a super day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kind Charles In 6/7/13 - 6/10/13. We had an amazing trip. I have never stayed at a hotel and had such a great experience. The greatest part about the hotel is the incredible service. Everything about every person that worked there was great. The front desk was so helpful in making sure we were taken care of in every way we asked. They upgraded our room for the last two nights (at no cost), they gave great recommendations to restaurants, hooked us up with late check out when we needed it, took care of our bags and belongings for a day while we went to the beach, made sure in everything we did we didn't over pay for something that was not great. And like every single person at the hotel just had the friendly service. The same goes for the restaurant and bar crew, the bellmen, and maids. The bar was a good place to grab a a great drink at a super fair price, as well as a good breakfast.....all came with great service. Anything we asked for same deal as the front desk, taken care of no problem. The same great, friendly service was demonstrated by all employees, all shifts, which I really could not believe.

On top of all that the location is perfect for Charleston. It is walking distance to great bars and restaurants. There is just tons of fun stuff right out the front door. And It is only 20 minutes to the beach. The hotel is super clean, nice decor, etc.

Overall great experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the exceptional TripAdvisor review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn! My staff continues to amaze me daily with their wonderful service. We are all committed to providing the highest quality of customer care every day every stay! I will certainly pass on your Kudo's!
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.