We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice room and happy hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, nice room and happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on TA comments and were not disappointed. Great location within walking distance of everything, quiet updated room and friendly staff. A surprise was the happy hour with snacks and $1 off drinks in just-renovated bar. The salon(?) above the reception is also new and very comfortable. Be sure to read the instructions they give you for managing the heat/cooling in your room. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one. There was no view but we choose a quiet sleep over scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We truly appreciate your business! I hope you enjoyed BREW Pub and Café as it just opened last week. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    413
    98
    40
    24
See reviews for
324
756
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in pricier hotels during our almost annual visits to Charleston, but none can compare with the King Charles when all factors are taken into consideration. The location is central for walking and not driving; the room was clean and the staff friendly. Two amenities stand out- free parking and the in-room fridge. They really help the budget conscious! The bed was comfortable. Yes, the heat/ac was a little loud and we could hear neighbors on one side (but not the other side!) but historic hotels all have their quirks that you live with. Hallway noise was minimal. Great shower. I think we have found the hotel we will be returning to!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! I am glad you enjoyed not only the complimentary parking, our fantastic location but our service as well! We certainly hope you become one of our special repeat customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were greeted warmly at the reception desk and found the room to be the highest of quality as one would expect in Charleston. The on site parking facility is definitely a benefit. Otherwise to be noted, like most hotels in the area, the room rates and taxes levied upon them are excessively high; but what could one expect from a town once overtaken by carpetbaggers.

Beware of agents in the street offering you a free carriage ride tour. There is a catch that you must endure a 2 hour sales pitch and beforehand show an ID and credit card in your name prior to the pitch. Unfortunately this town which was once known for grace and plenty has now evolved into a financial vacuum cleaner.

Any of the other shops, restaurants and businesses are little different than those you would find in other well known tourist cities. Those who came only for the day by car, and incurred a daily parking fee while taking tours to see the mansions, faired as well as many overnight guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I do however apologize for the bad impression of the Charleston timeshare salesman. I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Although this hotel was undergoing some renovation & construction, you wouldn't kn it & certainly weren't inconvenienced by it. The location was terrific -- an easy walk to bay street, the stores & activities. This is not a high-end luxury hotel, but it was very, very nice. The pool area is small but nicely appointed as are all the rooms. My only complaint was that in a 2-bed room, the beds were full-sized or double rather than queen sized. I believe this is probably due to the hotel being built at a time when rooms were smaller & double beds the norm. Otherwise, our room was lovely. Additiona nice touches were the free muffins, fruit & coffee in the morning and fresh baked cookies in the evenings. Overall, this was a terrific experience & a great value. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about bed-size if that is a priority for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! I hope you enjoyed your stay in the Holy City and hope you can return again in the near future! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Mike at reception and johnnie could not be nicer so helpful with recommendations of what to do ...mike. Room very comfortable and parking on site free. Loved the scarlet staircase. Little living room where we chit chatted with old friends. Not pretentious. Got the quiet room we requested. Not a view but large and modern. We were out most of time so view did not matter. Nice little reception in evening by pool. Too busy to use pool but nice amenity. Very pleases with our stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the five star review! I will certainly share your wonderful comments with Mike and Johnny---they are truly superstars! Thank you for your business and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton,NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the King Charles Inn in April, on vacation. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to park your car and explore Charleston on foot. Restaraunts, shopping, attractions are within easy walking distance from this hotel. The hotel staff is attentive and friendly. Next time we are in Charleston, I will certainly stay at the King Charles Inn again. For the price and the location, and quality, you couldn't ask for more. We will be back!

Room Tip: Queen rooms are a bit small. Choose a room with two beds for more leg room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your awesome trip report with others! Being located not only in the heart of the historic district but also across the street from the free trolley sure life easier! Charleston is such a walkable city, I am glad you enjoyed our great location! Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the King Charles for a few days in early April, 2013. It was very convenient having complimentary parking on site. We were allowed to leave our car parked until 4:00 PM on the day we checked out, which was so convenient. It made it possible to enjoy most of that day as well before heading home. Everything within the historic district is within walking distance from the hotel. There were plenty of wonderful restaurants close by and the "Market" is just two blocks away. Unfortunately we missed the opening of the newly renovated restaurant by one week; however the staff was very welcoming and we were very pleased with our King room with balcony on the 2nd floor. Room was large, nicely appointed and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here for our next visit to one of our favorite cities.

Room Tip: Our balcony room on the 2nd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I am thrilled to hear your enjoyed your visit! Not only is our free parking a great perk; being able to leave your car parked until 4:00pm on check out day certainly adds another level of comfort knowing you don't have to rush out of Charleston! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.