We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springtime Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Springtime Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very convenient to the shopping, restaurants, market, waterfront. Large, clean rooms and a very helpful and friendly staff. New pub and lounge is being built and the sketches and pictures meant to inspire only amounted to teasing. Otherwise, a smart - if simple - choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It sounds like you really enjoyed your Spring Break! I am sorry the weather has not felt like spring, but I am sure you found enough to do to keep you busy! Thank you for selecting our hotel and I hope you can return soon to see BREW Pub and Cafe. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    381
    87
    39
    23
See reviews for
302
704
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Far Hills, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a wonderful time my son and I had in Charleston, SC! And it all began with the terrific welcome at the Best Western! The staff went out of their way to welcome us and help get us checked in. Our room (2 double beds) was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was helpful with recommendations for meals. The location was perfect, right in the historic area, in close walking distance to everything. Parking was included AND we were able to stay parked on check-out day until 4 pm which gave us another day not to worry about driving/parking.
Renovations continue and when completed, will make this hotel one of the best places to stay in Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Wow! What a nice review! Our complimentary parking is certainly the best perk of all and being able to leave your car parked until 4:00pm on check-out day only makes it better! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your valued business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good Best Western. Fully upgraded and the beds are super comfortable. You can't beat the location and the service was great. Only downside was because of the location you could hear tons of noise on the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you can return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel at the end of March. We had a Queen room.
It was a little small, but there was an in room safe and refrigerator. It was very clean and comfortable. We did not like walking through the parking lot at night to get to an elevator to bring us up to our room. There was renovation happening on the 2nd floor. We were unable to have breakfast or go to the lounge for a drink. I also don't know if there would have been an alternate way to get to our room because of the renovation. Everything was pretty much within walking distance and the front desk was very accommodating. Our original flight was Monday, the 25th, and Delta cancelled it because of a storm we never had! Very upsetting. They rebooked us the same time on Tuesday so we needed to change the hotel stay. We did this without a problem. Matt at the front desk was terrific. I would surely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for recognizing Matt! He does a super job at the Front Desk and I appreciate his helpfulness! Thank you also for taking the time to share your trip report with others! I do apologize for the renovation detour. We have recently opened our Upper Lobby and the Restaurant is not far behind! I hope you can visit in the future to see the finished product!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in Charleston 4 nights and this Best Western is located in the historic area of Charleston. Slightly overpriced for a standard room. We did not need to use our car - walked everywhere. This hotel offers off-street parking - a definite MUST in historic Charleston - no extra cost. The rooms are clean and quiet. Renovations are still going on for a new bar and restaurant and the estimated date of completion is April 3, 2013.
The front staff are very helpful and friendly.
Excellent location!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return! I hope you can visit with us again as we reveal "BREW Pub and Cafe"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from spending 3 nights at this hotel. It s location is excellent and within walking distance of all major historical attractions. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and professional and there is even free parking. Rooms are small but very clean and tastefully decorated. When I return to Charleston, I this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your understanding. The Upper Lobby and Restaurant renovation should be complete soon and I hope you can come back and see it! It is going to be absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for your five star rating and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

There is some renovation work going on in the hotel, and the staff will let you know when you checked in. However, it did not bother me a bit. The staff were very friendly, and gave some tips on where to go.

Location-wise, it is excellent. It is a few blocks from Market street and King Street. "Figs", a highly recommended place is just across the street, and "Justine Kitchen", where you could get great southern cuisine at great price is just next block.

Room-wise, I was in room 238, which had a view of the parking lot. However, I did not hear any renovation works going on. The room was a good size. It was clean and comfortable. There are plenty of power sockets.

However, I do wish it has a coin laundry facilities. But overall, it is a good place to stay, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your wonderful experience with others! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, GCommerce Solutions, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.