We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springtime Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off in February
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Springtime Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very convenient to the shopping, restaurants, market, waterfront. Large, clean rooms and a very helpful and friendly staff. New pub and lounge is being built and the sketches and pictures meant to inspire only amounted to teasing. Otherwise, a smart - if simple - choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It sounds like you really enjoyed your Spring Break! I am sorry the weather has not felt like spring, but I am sure you found enough to do to keep you busy! Thank you for selecting our hotel and I hope you can return soon to see BREW Pub and Cafe. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a wonderful time my son and I had in Charleston, SC! And it all began with the terrific welcome at the Best Western! The staff went out of their way to welcome us and help get us checked in. Our room (2 double beds) was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was helpful with recommendations for meals. The location was perfect, right in the historic area, in close walking distance to everything. Parking was included AND we were able to stay parked on check-out day until 4 pm which gave us another day not to worry about driving/parking.
Renovations continue and when completed, will make this hotel one of the best places to stay in Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyD628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Wow! What a nice review! Our complimentary parking is certainly the best perk of all and being able to leave your car parked until 4:00pm on check-out day only makes it better! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your valued business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good Best Western. Fully upgraded and the beds are super comfortable. You can't beat the location and the service was great. Only downside was because of the location you could hear tons of noise on the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megansbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you can return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel at the end of March. We had a Queen room.
It was a little small, but there was an in room safe and refrigerator. It was very clean and comfortable. We did not like walking through the parking lot at night to get to an elevator to bring us up to our room. There was renovation happening on the 2nd floor. We were unable to have breakfast or go to the lounge for a drink. I also don't know if there would have been an alternate way to get to our room because of the renovation. Everything was pretty much within walking distance and the front desk was very accommodating. Our original flight was Monday, the 25th, and Delta cancelled it because of a storm we never had! Very upsetting. They rebooked us the same time on Tuesday so we needed to change the hotel stay. We did this without a problem. Matt at the front desk was terrific. I would surely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for recognizing Matt! He does a super job at the Front Desk and I appreciate his helpfulness! Thank you also for taking the time to share your trip report with others! I do apologize for the renovation detour. We have recently opened our Upper Lobby and the Restaurant is not far behind! I hope you can visit in the future to see the finished product!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in Charleston 4 nights and this Best Western is located in the historic area of Charleston. Slightly overpriced for a standard room. We did not need to use our car - walked everywhere. This hotel offers off-street parking - a definite MUST in historic Charleston - no extra cost. The rooms are clean and quiet. Renovations are still going on for a new bar and restaurant and the estimated date of completion is April 3, 2013.
The front staff are very helpful and friendly.
Excellent location!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return! I hope you can visit with us again as we reveal "BREW Pub and Cafe"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just returned from spending 3 nights at this hotel. It s location is excellent and within walking distance of all major historical attractions. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and professional and there is even free parking. Rooms are small but very clean and tastefully decorated. When I return to Charleston, I this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your understanding. The Upper Lobby and Restaurant renovation should be complete soon and I hope you can come back and see it! It is going to be absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for your five star rating and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

There is some renovation work going on in the hotel, and the staff will let you know when you checked in. However, it did not bother me a bit. The staff were very friendly, and gave some tips on where to go.

Location-wise, it is excellent. It is a few blocks from Market street and King Street. "Figs", a highly recommended place is just across the street, and "Justine Kitchen", where you could get great southern cuisine at great price is just next block.

Room-wise, I was in room 238, which had a view of the parking lot. However, I did not hear any renovation works going on. The room was a good size. It was clean and comfortable. There are plenty of power sockets.

However, I do wish it has a coin laundry facilities. But overall, it is a good place to stay, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your wonderful experience with others! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#