We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated, friendly and GREAT location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Updated, friendly and GREAT location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are so glad we chose this hotel for our visit to Charleston. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. Pleasant surprise was the modern bathroom (in a very old hotel). We visited for exploring this gem of an old historic city and we could walk from here to just about everywhere (not to the Citadel). People are very friendly, we found terrific food in all kinds of places (i.e. Whisk, Brown Dog, S.N.O.B. and more).

Room Tip: A room towards the back (overlooking parking lot) is much quieter. Not a great view, but oh, so quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! I am glad you enjoyed the hotel upgrades, our super location and especially our amazing staff! I appreciate your business and hope you can come back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    499
    123
    44
    29
See reviews for
378
906
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joppa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend in Charleston and selected the Best Western King Charles Inn and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is extremely well situated if you are planning to explore the historic Charleston area and take advantage of all the city offers in shopping, dining and exploring. We didn't have the best of weather, but didn't mind as much as we might have because our room was so cozy.

We had a room at the back of the hotel with a King bed that was firm and very comfortable. There were two arm chairs with iittle lumbar pillows and an ottoman, which provided great seating for reading and watching TV - and they had placed a little table between them as well as a standing lamp. I think this might have been the first hotel room I've ever stayed in that had an actual closet like the type you have in your home with a single door with a doorknob on it. It was wonderful to be able to store our carry-on bags, luggage, shoes, etc. out of the way - with plenty of room to spare. There was a piece of furniture that the flat screen TV sat atop that had three drawers that were adequate for our 3 night stay but might be cramped if you were staying longer and above the drawers was two doors with an ice bucket and glasses inside. On the other half of the inside of this piece of furniture was a mini refrigerator and a safe. There was a marble topped writing or computer table with a desk chair placed next to the TV stand/dresser with a Keurig coffee maker.

Each side of the bed had a night table with several drawers that was very convenient. A padded bench was situated at the foot of the bed which was amazingly useful - makes me want one but I don't have the room!! The clock radio was also a phone docking station and there were plentiful electrical outlets throughout the room, which was helpful in keeping our electronics charged.

The bathroom was larger than most and the vanity had a marble top that matched the writing/computer table in the bedroom and a little glass shelf above the sink to hold your toiletries. In front of the vanity a fuzzy white rug had been placed and the spare roll of toilet tissue was in a little sheer fabric bag with a tassel tie that made it look like a gift These little touches, along with the previously mentioned arm chairs and the honest to goodness real closet made it seem more like you were staying in the guest room of a nice house than a hotel. French doors opened to a balcony with two white rockers, complete with a planter with flowers! Unfortunately, it was too cool and rainy for us to avail ourselves of this amenity, but it was very inviting to look out onto.

The hotel was very quiet and we heard no room noise from the guests in the adjacent room . We very much enjoyed staying in a hotel with a parking lot - and it was a real bonus we weren't charged for parking. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel is that you might consider having the corporate site indicate that the location is under renovation and breakfast cannot be obtained on the premises - and mainly because the home page makes the statement that breakfast can be obtained at every Best Western hotel. We had rain 3 of the 4 days we were in Charleston and we might have enjoyed having breakfast there on at least one of the days, but the upside was that the hotel is in close proximity to several restaurants, so this encouraged us to try some of them, which we enjoyed. Our favorite was Barbara Jean's, followed by Whisk and then Toast.

We liked the extra security measure that required people using the exterior elevator to have a room key. There were two computers in the lower level of the front section of the hotel, which we accessed from the parking lot, as it allowed us to access and print our boarding passes before leaving for the airport.

If we visit Charleston in the future, we would definitely stay at the Best Western King Charles Inn, as well as recommend it to friends and family. The location is ideal and convenient to everything - stores, restaurants, the marketplace - the rooms are comfortable, cozy and well maintained and you get a lot of conveniences and extras at what we felt was a reasonable and fair room rate. Plus, while it's a very nice hotel, it's not snooty or pretentious. While we might have been able to afford to stay at some of the more - well, lovely but more fancy properties in the area, we prefer to stay at a hotel that provides a nice experience without feeling you have to get dressed to the nines to appear in public or wind up looking out of place.

Our room looked exactly like the picture on the web site, but I have to say it doesn't really do it justice. Don't hesitate to stay at the Best Western King Charles Inn - it's almost like being at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed description of the King Charles Inn! Your writing is impeccable and I enjoyed reading your comments! Thank you for allowing us to serve you and I hope you can return in the future! Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The King Charles Inn was a budget conscious surprise in a town of expensive b&b's. Location was great - walking distance to historic area, shops, and restaurants. Rooms were spacious and clean. Only thing to note is that they are currently renovating their breakfast room. The construction didn't bother us, but might for those looking to sleep late on a weekday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback with others! Thank you for your business and I hope you can return in the future to experience our new lobby and restaurant. Brew Pub and Cafe will be opening mid March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to dining, shopping and attractions. Rooms are somewhat small but nicely appointed and very clean and inviting. The beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our hotel! I hope you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again in the future! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

You can stay here and feel that your money is well spent. Clean friendly and comfortable and is near just about everywhere. At present the restaurant is being renovated but there are really good ones nearby. We would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice compliments! Brew Pub and Cafe will be opening in mid March and I hope you can return in the future to enjoy this new venue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, and both times have been fantastic. The front desk team was so helpful in every way. The rooms were spotless and charming. The location of the hotel is fabulous and within walking distance to many great restaurants and wonderful shopping. I loved my stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the five star review and especially your repeat business! We appreciate your loyalty to the King Charles Inn! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location is fantastic if you're planning to eat, shop, sightsee in the Historic District. But not sure the convenience justifies the exhorbitant price. Have had better rooms in SanFran, NYC, Chicago, WDC for less money. The "free breakfast" consisted of coffee and miniscule muffins and donuts. The mattress sagged on the edges as if an elephant had been perched on it. Otherwise, it was very clean, except for the rather nasty shared balcony - not that we spent any time there as it overlooked the interior parking lot and smelled like gas fumes. And having a balcony room allows other guests to look directly into your room, so you have to keep the drapes pulled.

But the real problem was with Guest Services. Shortly after checking in, several family members (also guests of the King Charles) gathered in our room so that we could all walk to dinner together. They all went out on the balcony to laugh at the view, and moments later the message light started to flash on our phone. It never rang, we were just left a message. After searching for a means to retrieve the message (the "message" button did not work and there no other instructions) my husband called the Front Desk and was told to dial 1300. How would one know that? The message was a THREAT from Guest Relations. The message said that people were observed SMOKING on our balcony and in the doorway to our balcony. She said, in a very nasty threatening tone, that it was strictly against hotel policy and that if they were unable to rent our room after we checked out due to the smell of smoke, a $250 FINE would be added to our bill. Well, first of all, there was NO ONE in our room smoking. No one in our room smokes AT ALL. Secondly, no one called to speak to us personally? No one came to the room to speak to us about a potential problem? No, just a threatening message left on our phone! We were so livid that we did not even speak to anyone in the hotel about it at that time because my husband and I were both so angry that it would have turned into a scene. We were teased about the incident for the rest of the evening by our other family members, and it really left a bad taste in our mouths. I could not wait to check out and would definitely NOT stay here again if that's they way they treat a guest paying over $300 a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am very disappointed to read this review. I will certainly follow-up with my staff today to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Your business is very important to us and we certainly don't want to lose you as a customer. Please accept my apology and know how embarrassed I am.
I also wanted to share with everyone that we do NOT offer a complimentary breakfast. The only reason we offer complimentary muffins and donuts at this time with the coffee set up is just a little something extra to enjoy while the restaurant is being renovated. Thank you again for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.