We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Charleston's nicest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Unicoi, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of Charleston's nicest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here last year and were so impressed with the facility and the amenities, as well as the staff that we didn't even consider another option when we came back at the end of January. It has only gotten nicer! Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The "happy hour" each night with cheeses and drinks in the lounge is both very inviting and relaxing. The room prices are quite good for Charleston, especially when you consider their excellent location and the fact that they also offer free covered parking. The staff is always incredibly accommodating and it would be hard to go wrong staying here. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the staircase/lounge. Definitely reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We really appreciate our Repeat Guests! You are more like family to us and it is great to see you return! We hope when you come back next year, you will really enjoy the new Cafe and Pub due to open in March 2013! Thank you for the great rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    414
    97
    40
    24
See reviews for
324
756
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Charleston many times, but this was the first time I have stayed at this hotel. The bed was great, the entire hotel was nice, with the exception of our room. It was a room attached to another room and every night about 2am the drunk pot smokers came in and acted like the connecting door was a bathroom door and woke us up with yelling and beating against that door. The first night I dealt with it by turning on a white noise generator. The second night, I would have probably done the same except that they were obviously smoking pot and seemed like they were blowing it into our room. The smoke was so heavy and stinky that I called the front desk and told them what was going on. They sent a security officer up and he talked to them to have them stop, then after the security officer walked away, the idiots poured cologne on our door and took our do not disturb sign. The front desk should have moved us to another room, their response was completely wrong. I will never stay there again and neither will anyone I have a chance to talk to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am very disappointed to read this review. If you would please contact me personally at gm@kingcharlesinn.com or 843-723-7451. I apologize for the unpleasant stay and want you to know this is unacceptable. Maureen Sheridan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were here for 2 nights. It was a great room and the location couldn't have been better. We pulled in Monday afternoon and didn't move our car until Wednesday afternoon. The hotel is right in the historic district and you can walk everywhere you need to be. The only problem we had was on the 2nd night. They are doing renovations and were putting a compressor unit on the roof. All the work was being done right outside of our window and they were working until almost midnight. We were given a discount on that night, which was nice. But, because of the renovations, there was no breakfast or anything of that sort at the hotel. We didn't have to move the car until 4PM of the day we check out, which was nice because that gave us extra time to see Charleston. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! I certainly appreciate your patience with our Restaurant being under construction but I hope you can return in the future to see the finished product! Thank you and have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the King Charles for four nights last September . Great location for walkers: stroll down Meeting St. to view historic homes, walk around the corner to the beautiful shops on King St, or go a few blocks north to the Farmer' Market--it's all easily accessible from this surprisingly upscale Best Western inn. My room was beautifully decorated with a four-poster king bed and nice linens; it was quiet and clean, but had no real "view", just the parking lot. Breakfast is extra and rather uninspiring , but the parking is free if you arrive with a car. The outdoor pool looked clean and refreshing and the evening reception with fruit, cheese, and crackers was a fun way to mingle with nice folks and share travel stories. The staff was excellent, especially the front desk personnel who helped me navigate the city sans car. There is a trolley stop across the street which takes you north and south to many of the main tourist stops. Also across Meeting St. is one of the best restaurants in Charleston: Fig. Superb food and service just a few steps from the inn. Lots of other eateries within easy walking distance--totally safe and easy for the solo woman tourist! One important note: my weekend rate was nearly double the Monday/Tuesday rate, so book mid week for the best value.

Room Tip: Pretty sure most rooms looked over the parking area or the street. I could be wrong, but I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. I am sure others who read this will feel more comfortable about traveling to Charleston with or without a companion! Its fun to do everything from a Carriage tour, boat tour to Fort Sumter or a Plantation while visiting the Holy City! We even make it easier by working with Charleston Tours who picks up the guests at our front door! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nothing spectacular but it is a good value and great location. Parking is easy and onsite for no additional charge. Check in and out is super easy. Didnt check out any amenities of the hotel so cant commment on those. I would recommend this location for those traveling to charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed all the added perks of the King Charles Inn! It is very rare to find complimentary off-street parking in downtown Charleston and we just love being able to offer this amenity to our valued guests! I hope you can visit in the future! Thank you for your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay in Charleston. It was our third time visiting this lovely city. This hotel exceeded my expectations by a mile. The front office staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed comfortable, and the furnishings well kept. They even supply a keurig coffee maker. The location of the hotel was the absolute best. Only a few blocks from Hymans Seafood, many other restaurants, the Central Market, and the carriage rides The only slight negative, was the street noise the first evening of our stay. It started with the street sweeper at 4am, then the garbage pick-up at 6am from the restaurant across the street. No problem however, we had our room moved to an interior room the next day. The restaurant is undergoing renovation, so the hotel has made arrangements with a few restaurants in the area. We went to Toast twice, then to Barbara Jeans, both within blocks of the hotel. Barbara Jeans gives a 10% discount to King Charles guests. Both places had wonderful food. Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel, you cannot go wrong!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your valued business! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Best Western because we were served so well a year before, at last year's Charleston Restaurant Week. We get to sample some of the best food available in the US, visit with our son and daughter-in-law, and stay in a well located, clean, and friendly hotel. We'll be back again and would recommend it to any friends coming to Charleston. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Wasn't Charleston Restaurant Week just wonderful? Don't forget we celebrate this twice a year; every January and September! I too had fun taking advantage of all the creative menu's and great value! Hope to see you again! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.