We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms were clean and the staff was nice and friendly. The location is great , just a block away from the center of downtown. The mattress was a bit firm for my taste and there was no breakfast due to the renovation. Otherwise, it was great, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others! Our staff takes great pride in the hotel cleanliness and I am glad it shows! I hope you can return again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    434
    102
    40
    25
See reviews for
334
786
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Three days here starting 12/18. This was our fifth time in three years. My previous reviews were all 5* "Excellents". Don't miss the Christmas Festival of Lights which runs through Dec.31

This place has NO cons believe me

Pros: central location, off- street protected parking (complementary), cleanliness without equal. staff from top management (Maureen Sheridan, GM) to bellman "Johnny", every desk clerk (although I only got name of Angel Nicole), lobby attendant/bartender, chef, maids.......you name it. Each one makes you feel welcome throughout your stay.....and no request is too much. If you go anywhere else you'll pay much, much more for a comparable room but still won't get any better service.

Of particular value to me was the plumbing in the bath.....water pressure is unbelievably strong, has a personal removable shower head and is granite/marble lined instead of formica, fiberglass or other composite.

No breakfasts being offered (continental could be had at $6.95pp) until probably late March. Dining area is closed for extreme makeover until then.....lobby bar probably will be also (Happy hour is 4:30-5:30 with reduced drink prices and snacks of cheeses, crackers, fruit......Free PC and internet access in lobby.

Excellent value and no competition in the area. Enjoy the one block walk to King St. shopping mecca. Merry and Happy everything to all. Read also my review of Hyman's Restaurant.

Room Tip: Junior suites (Nos. 247 and 347) roomy and overlook corner of Hasell and Meeting Sts. cata-corner fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Your repeat business year after year makes the King Charles Inn what it is today! We just love our loyal guests and enjoy serving you! Happy New Year 2013 and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the The king Charles over the weekend and WOW! The room was very fresh and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom spotless. They even had a lighted make up mirror which I appreciated. We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in NYC last month (380 per night!)and this hotel was superior. The common area's are not "grand" but adequate and attractive. --The rooms were just as nice as the "luxury" hotel and the bath was actually nicer. Oh, also, the doorman? He remembered my name EVERY time I came in or left. The only negative is the parking lot is tight but that's to be expected in a downtown location. Whatever you are doing keep it up- We will be back and will definitely recommend! Fantastic customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wow! Thank you for the five star review! We are honored to be placed among your top hotels category! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Best Western King Charles Inn last week. All the staff were so pleasant and helpful and the front desk staff even upgraded our accommodations to a larger room than we had originally booked. I selected this hotel to stay at because another reviewer had made the comment that this Best Western was excellent and had seemingly higher than usual standards and I definitely agree. The rooms and all areas of the hotel were very clean and beautifully decorated and the location is terrific for walking throughout the historic district of Charleston, The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff were accommodating with our request to add porridge to the menu. The outdoor eating area, including beautiful water fountain, is lovely. I wish we had had the time to enjoy the outdoor pool as it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with others! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the cleanest and quietest places we have stayed at in a very long time. The cost of the room was reasonable and the staff was very friendly. As an added bonus The Fig restaurant is right across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I just love reading these reviews and sharing them with my staff! The Housekeepers take such great pride in their jobs and I'm thrilled you noticed the cleanliness! Thank you for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at the King Charles Inn recently, and had an excellent stay. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and received an upgrade to a Deluxe room with balcony, along with a complimentary bottle of champers and a very nice card. All of this was completely unexpected, but very welcomed after a long day of travelling.
The hotel itself was very clean, and in a great location, just five mins walk from downtown. The free parking was very handy, as parking around Charleston can be a bit of a nightmare.
We encountered a couple of problems when using the hotel's website to book the room. Different rates were given at different stages of the booking process. After contacting the hotel directly, the issue was sorted very promptly for us. Really good service.
Can highly recommend the King Charles to anyone looking for affordable digs in a central location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are honored you chose our hotel and had a great experience! Our goal is to provide the highest quality of customer care every day, every stay! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a lovely hotel right in the historic centre of Charleston - you can walk straight out of the door and enjoy the sights. And although location is a huge plus for the King Charles Inn, it isn't the only thing the hotel has going for it. We got a very warm welcome from the reception staff and generally everyone we met in the hotel had a smile. The room was huge and very comfortable, very clean and well furnished - and there is free parking. We will certainly stay here again if we are back in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
They say location is everything! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed not only our free parking and location but our staff as well! Thank you for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.