We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, not your average Best Western!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, not your average Best Western!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We usually stay at a B&B when visiting Charleston, but we wanted to stay by Marion Square and the North side to do some of the Christmas events this past weekend, and we are glad we stayed here. Perfect location, nice room rate, clean, friendly staff, and nice rooms with comfy beds. The only downside was the internet was down, but they discounted our room rate for the trouble, and it was their service provider, which could not be helped. NOt your average Best Western!

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room, but the first night we had a loud neighbor who seemed to sit right by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel! I sincerely apologize for the wireless issue and know it has been resolved. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    892
    387
    91
    39
    24
See reviews for
311
719
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second stay at the King Charles Inn and I was afraid it couldn't not measure up to my first stay--but it did. The hotel is in the historic district and in easy walking distance of most sights. There is a trolley (free) stop just across the street which is very convenient. The hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms comfortable and well-appointed, but the highlight of this hotel is the staff. They are friendly, helpful, and genuinely interested in you. Everyone speaks to you, offers help and suggestions. I am very sensitive to noise in hotels and I can tell you that you won't hear noise from the hall, the other rooms or usually even from the street. On this stay i had a room right next to the elevator but never heard any noise from it. The hotel has free parking which is a really bonus in Charleston. There are fancier hotels in Charleston, but I doubt there are ones that are friendlier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Hasell St do have a bit of street noise early in the morning from the street cleaner an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your repeat business and your loyalty to the King Charles Inn! It sounds like you really enjoyed your holiday weekend! We hope you can return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are just back from Charleston, we were there for a business meeting, and wanted to take in the sights. Last year we stayed at the site in a historic hotel. Nice but we wanted more. Charleston has lots of choices, and parking is a premium like the big cities. The King Charles is very close to the old market, and really is walking distance from almost everything. The rooms are generous, modern bathrooms with space. They have free parking, and a pool if you want it. It is arranged a little odd, but is functional. We slept well without any street noise. Last night we walked to watch the Christmas Boat parade, down East Bay and ate at High Cotton on the way back.
The staff was very nice, everyone offered to help and Monique and Lauren were very helpful at the desk. You would have to look hard to find a better bargain that was this convenient.

Room Tip: High and interior to be away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the recognizing our staff members Lauren and Monica! They certainly enjoy pleasing the guests! I am glad you had a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the King Charles Inn. This was our second time staying here. This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to restaurants. It is pretty close to Market Street. The free parking is a huge bonus, we never even used the car on this trip because we walked everywhere. The room was nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. They now have a keurig in the room. There is also a little tea station outside the dining room. The mini fridge also comes in handy. We never ate breakfast at the hotel or went to the evening reception. I think they also have chocolate chip cookies at night. The King Charles is right around the corner from Jestine's Kitchen. I think they are also about a block from King Street. We did use the free wifi, that is handy to use to look up information about Charleston. I don't think there are any bars within the vicinity of the King Charles so if you had a street view room it may not be as noisy as ones on market street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your repeat business! I am glad you noticed the new Keuirg makers; the guests certainly do love them! Thank you for the five star review and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only been gone from Charleston for 2 days and I am already wanting to go back. From the minute we arrived to the King Charles Inn we were treated as if we were royalty. Everyone from the front desk staff to the parking attendant was super nice and really went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. We were celebrating our first anniversary and management went out of their way to make that extra special for us. Even with a hand written card, champagne, and chocolates. We were also upgraded to a king room which was beautiful. The bathroom was very large and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The location is perfect for anything you'd like to do while visiting downtown. We are so happy to find a hotel that we will return to without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We appreciate your five star review and hope to see you on your next Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
670 helpful votes 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been to Charleston more times than I can remember and stayed in various locations from Isle of Palms to downtown to Folly Beach. Believe me I've experienced the nice and the not-so-nice of many locations, but I think the location of the King Charles Inn is quite perfect for being downtown. Our room wasn't too small considering we had 4 adults in it, and the bathroom was nice and big. It was always clean and everyone was extremely nice during our stay. Downtown Charleston can be very expensive, but if you're knowledgeable enough to use websites like Hotwire or Priceline you can get some very good deals. We used Hotwire and got this room at a substantial discount.

I highly recommend this hotel...especially if you get a great rate!

Room Tip: Instead of the hotel breakfast venture out to the Dixie Supply and Bakery...about a 10 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your nice review! Although we appreciate our travel partners on the web, you can always book the best available rate but calling the Front Desk directly! Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. We had a larger room with a view. I appreciate the attention to detail with "clean bags" on the remote and the extra pillows to show that these have been cleaned prior to our use. Keurig was a nice touch and there is always fresh hot tea and coffee in the lobby area. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded. The concierge/front desk staff were very helpful in making dinner reservations and suggestions. The free parking was a major plus and the hotel was close to everything.

Room Tip: The junion suite is still more afforadable than smaller rooms in other inns and the view and extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome feedback with others! Charleston is such a great town; I am glad you enjoyed not only your visit but the KIng Charles Inn as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.