We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely two night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the King Charles Inn. This was our second time staying here. This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to restaurants. It is pretty close to Market Street. The free parking is a huge bonus, we never even used the car on this trip because we walked everywhere. The room was nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. They now have a keurig in the room. There is also a little tea station outside the dining room. The mini fridge also comes in handy. We never ate breakfast at the hotel or went to the evening reception. I think they also have chocolate chip cookies at night. The King Charles is right around the corner from Jestine's Kitchen. I think they are also about a block from King Street. We did use the free wifi, that is handy to use to look up information about Charleston. I don't think there are any bars within the vicinity of the King Charles so if you had a street view room it may not be as noisy as ones on market street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your repeat business! I am glad you noticed the new Keuirg makers; the guests certainly do love them! Thank you for the five star review and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    432
    102
    40
    25
See reviews for
334
784
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only been gone from Charleston for 2 days and I am already wanting to go back. From the minute we arrived to the King Charles Inn we were treated as if we were royalty. Everyone from the front desk staff to the parking attendant was super nice and really went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. We were celebrating our first anniversary and management went out of their way to make that extra special for us. Even with a hand written card, champagne, and chocolates. We were also upgraded to a king room which was beautiful. The bathroom was very large and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The location is perfect for anything you'd like to do while visiting downtown. We are so happy to find a hotel that we will return to without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We appreciate your five star review and hope to see you on your next Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
683 helpful votes 683 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been to Charleston more times than I can remember and stayed in various locations from Isle of Palms to downtown to Folly Beach. Believe me I've experienced the nice and the not-so-nice of many locations, but I think the location of the King Charles Inn is quite perfect for being downtown. Our room wasn't too small considering we had 4 adults in it, and the bathroom was nice and big. It was always clean and everyone was extremely nice during our stay. Downtown Charleston can be very expensive, but if you're knowledgeable enough to use websites like Hotwire or Priceline you can get some very good deals. We used Hotwire and got this room at a substantial discount.

I highly recommend this hotel...especially if you get a great rate!

Room Tip: Instead of the hotel breakfast venture out to the Dixie Supply and Bakery...about a 10 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your nice review! Although we appreciate our travel partners on the web, you can always book the best available rate but calling the Front Desk directly! Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. We had a larger room with a view. I appreciate the attention to detail with "clean bags" on the remote and the extra pillows to show that these have been cleaned prior to our use. Keurig was a nice touch and there is always fresh hot tea and coffee in the lobby area. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded. The concierge/front desk staff were very helpful in making dinner reservations and suggestions. The free parking was a major plus and the hotel was close to everything.

Room Tip: The junion suite is still more afforadable than smaller rooms in other inns and the view and extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome feedback with others! Charleston is such a great town; I am glad you enjoyed not only your visit but the KIng Charles Inn as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land TX
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We made last minute reservations in order to get to our cruise ship after Sandy. The staff was really helpful, friendly and gracious in the Southern manner. The breakfast was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and charming . I would suggest this inn to anyone looking for a medium priced hotel. It is within easy walking distance to the market and restaurants. The parking was centered in the middle of the hotel site and so protected and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We just love our cruise passengers! Staying downtown the night before you depart makes life so much easier than fighting the incoming traffic! I hope you enjoyed your cruise out of Charleston and Thank you for staying with us at the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is just a really nice place to stay, very up-scale, from desk help to doorman (yep, they still have one). Even though the city was uncharacteristically cold and rainy, the location was perfect for walking to all of our activities. Since the hotel is located within the designated historic district, all of the gaslight old-south charm is just outside. The weather was uncharacteristically cold and rainy, but we added a glass of wine to the 4:30 complimentary cheese trays in the upstairs lounge and enjoyed having this space in which to meet friends. The front-of-the-house luxury does extend to the rooms, too, with lovely soaps and lotions and oddles of pillows! And to have on-site free parking was a real bonus.

Room Tip: All of the buildings are low in Charleston, so don't expect a view. You'll enjoy the walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so sorry about the weather but it sounds like you braved the elements and had a great time! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our first trip to Charleston and we are glad we chose the King Charles Inn. Clean, spacious, reasonably priced for downtown. Room was quite large as was the bathroom. Really comfortable bed. Staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. Breakfast is adequate if you don't want to go out in the morning. Many restaurants within walking distance as is the market. The free parking is a definite plus. Next trip we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Music to my ears...repeat guests! Thank you for your nice review and I hope you can visit us again in the near future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.