We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I took just got back from an anniversary trip to Charleston. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. The location is perfect - we easily walked everywhere. In fact, once we parked the car, we didn't get in it again until we left this morning. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the room was great. Very nicely decorated, huge bathroom, and very comfy bed and plenty of pillows. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return in the near future! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    873
    381
    87
    39
    23
See reviews for
303
705
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very convenient location for walking all over historic Charleson. We had no car but didn't need one. Luxurious room--plenty of counter space in the bathroom; Keurig coffee maker complete with instructions (yay! I was a Keurig novice); balcony overlooking the parking lot but there were rockers to enjoy the beautiful fall weather. The staff, from the front desk to the bartender to the housekeepers, were all so helpful and hospitable. When we checked in, we discovered champagne & chocolates for us to celebrate this anniversary trip. A totally wonderful experience in Charleston, & the King Charles Inn was a big part of it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Congratulations on your Anniversary! Thank you again for celebrating your special occasion at the King Charles Inn! We hope to see you every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We made last minute reservations and the check-in could not have been better. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable with a nice size bathroom, only complaint would be the noise of the heating/air conditioning system. Late afternoon, there is a nice tray of cheese, crackers, olives and strawberries for guests to enjoy. The location is perfect, you can walk to restaurants, shopping and the Market and the complimentary parking is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your nice review! It sounds like you enjoyed your visit! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I feel slightly guilty giving this place only three stars, so I hope people bother to read my review as well.
There`s nothing really wrong with it, if it`s your style.
The location is good (although everything was slightly more of a walk than I`d hoped)
The staff were excellent.
Free off-street parking in a city is a definite bonus.
Pleasant pool area, although slightly noisy from the traffic.

My main problem was that it just wasn`t "our" sort of hotel. The rooms were small and dark and clutterd with heavy furniture. (we kept walking into the bedframes!) And the beds squeaked.

Good value for money tho`.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your candid review! We appreciate your business and your honesty. I am however happy to know you enjoyed our service, value and of course the free parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hat1981
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this hotel's location - it is an easy walk to everything you want see and convenient parking within the hotel. The rooms aren't the newest but they are well maintained and very clean. The toiletries were Gilchrest & Soames, which were nice. Decent cable and free wi-fi were all pluses. but my favorite part was the friendly and helpful concierge staff. Oh, and maybe the cookies at night.

My only complaint is about the fellow guest who must have come home drunk and without a key and proceeded to bang on his hotel door for 20 minutes at 3 am. It woke up both my husband and my myself. I hardly think that is the hotel's fault, though!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
First I would like to apologize for the incident with your inconsiderate neighbors. Even with that, I am thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay and hope you can return in the near future! Thank you for the five star rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect location, absolutely wonderful staff, and the rooms were clean and attractive. For the money, you just can't beat this place! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful visit with others! We sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great hotel. The room was beautiful--a king sized room without a balcony. Parking for our car was provided which I really liked and the hotel was within easy walking distance for all the sites in Charleston. The room was new, quiet, and clean. Beakfast is not provided but you can buy it in a cozy room buffet style--$7.95 continental and $9.95 for hot buffet. The happy hour was great every evening with reduced prices for drinks and free cheese and crackers. The employees were all great with a smile on their faces and a greeting every time. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your Charleston experience! The King Charles Inn is so happy to have played a part! Thank you for your kind words and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.