We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and really nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles Inn

Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King Charles Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
charlotte, nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value and really nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

THis hotel is in a super convinient location and within walking distance to EVERYTHING down town which is really nice because you park for free there! The staff was Super friendly and helpful, they even left us a message on our room phone to "see how it was going and if we needed anything!" The property was clean and safe, well lit, and easy to navigate. The pool area was just beautiful with nice covered seating and a pretty fountain. (it was too chilly to actually swim though) Every evening they have a manager's reception with some hour d' vous and a bar in the reception room which contains a big screen tv and fireplace. The drinks were quite expensive but the service was nice. I would highly reccommend staying there if you want to be close to the action without spending a ton of money on the room you don't spend much time in anyway.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no microwave or refrigerator
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    381
    87
    39
    23
See reviews for
303
706
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

This hotel offers a great value due to it's central location to market
and historical sites. The staff was very courteous and helpfull with all requests. Parking is a major advantage. Would stay again upon a return to Charleston.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Great visit! I had a lot of trouble getting there due to flight delays. I had to call the hotel repeatedly and arrange/rearrange my arrival and departure. Everyone on the phone and in person was wonderful! Great service! Will use them in next visit!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the King Charles-we had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and then we got a good AARP rate of $139. This included parking on site, which was wonderful in historic Charleston. The staff was very friendly, and the manager was visable to guests and circulated amongst guests during their "happy hour" and during breakfast. Asking how things were, what did you see, do you need help with restaurants, etc. She was a real professional! The rooms were comfortable, clean- we had breakfast there 1 morning-it was a good breakfast with many hot items and a pleasant dining room. The location is great you can walk anywhere in the historic area. We would recommend this hotel for the value and the wonderful staff.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — some street noise.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the King Charles Inn for one night following a 5 night stay in Myrtle Beach. This was our first trip to Charleston. We arrived at the motel at 11:30 am . The staff was wonderful and friendly. They gave us a parking pass that we could park in the motel parking lot until the next day at 4 pm. That was a real plus considering you can pretty much walk anywhere in the historic area. They also gave us directions to some of the attractions that we were wanting to see. The room was very nice and tastefully decorated. Their beds were VERY comfortable. The rooms are not very sound proof. You could hear people walking and talking down the hall or in the next room. There were some very good restaurants nearby. Sticky Fingers is right next door. It is a bar-b-que restaurant, and T-Bones is a couple of blocks over. The food and service were great. I highly recommend staying here. We stayed in Sept. and the rate was only $100 per night. Most of the others were at least $200 or more. It was well worth the money!

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — The outside noise from hall and rooms next door
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

I did quite a bit of research before booking a hotel for a Charleston visit . It was the first time in town and I was visiting with my brother and our spouses. When I saw the rate and location, I was pretty skeptical - a quality hotel in the historic area at a reasonable rate? Probably won't happen, right? Well, we were very happy with the accomodations and, especially, the location. We walked everywhere in Charleston for three days and had free on-location parking. The rooms were very clean, recently remodeled and spacious. The staff was just about the best ever - everyone from Danielle at check-in to the last person we saw on the last day. If we are fortunate enough to get back to this great city, we'll definitely stay here!

  • Liked — service and location
  • Disliked — food needs work but maybe so many other choices in Charleston?
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the King Charles Inn and we were impressed with the service from the staff. Our friends that came with us had never been to Charleston so we wanted to get there early so we could walk around and show them what makes Charleston such a great place to visit. We had called a few days prior to arriving and spoke to Chris, he said it was no problem getting there early and to just come in and get a parking permit. We arrived around 1:30 but check in time was at 4:00. The young man behind the desk, Michael, was very polite and even checked to see if the rooms were available. He told us it would be no problem checking us in that early. Other places that we have arrived early (and I'm talking only 30 min.) still made us wait in the lobby. The rooms were clean and furnished well and the best part is how close they are to the historic part of Charleston. We parked the car and never took it out until time to leave. We will certainly stay there again, hopefully for a longer visit.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and how close to historic sites
  • Disliked — we had no problems
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.