We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Charleston!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast with a view!
Ranked #1 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Charleston!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have been to Charleston many times and have stayed at a variety of hotels and B&Bs. 21 East Battery was our favorite by far, and Julie the innkeeper was a huge reason! We arrived late and found she had lit the fireplace for us and left a yummy banana bread for us as well as breakfast items for the next morning. We stayed in the quarters, which was perfect for us and our friends (2 couples total). The place was very clean and cozy and quiet. Julie provided delicious treats and quiche throughout our stay. Enjoyed spending time on the first floor veranda of the main house after the museum closed. This is a great place to stay and we will definitely be back as long as Julie is the innkeeper!! Do note that off street parking is only available for one car. Luckily we had all traveled together. Also, quarters could use one more "comfy" chair in living area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houghton, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The B&B is very quiet and convenient, a short 10 minute walk to most of the attractions in Charleston. The B&B is located in an area of stately homes and is in a prime location, in fact a new television show was being filmed one block over during our stay. Across the street from the B&B is the battery and we enjoyed nice strolls along the water. The accomodations are comfortable and very quiet. The first floor has a couch, chair, TV and kitchenette; the second floor has the bedroom and bathroom (which was spacious). We enjoyed it when we came back from our day of touring to find that Julie had the gas fireplace going for us. Julie makes the most delicious breakfasts and afternoon treats, its a good thing we parked the car at the B&B for most of our stay and did a lot of walking to wear off all the calories. If there is one con, it would be that the stairs are somewhat steep and narrow going up to the second floor as you have to remember that this is a very old home and the "Quarters" are the old slave quarters. If you hang onto the rail to steady your steps, you'll be just fine. We would stay at 21 East B&B without any hesitation and highly recommend it. Its quite the value!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This B&B has unique accommodations, the first floor has a Kitchenette and sitting area with a tv and very comfortably fits two couples. The second floor has two large rooms with private baths. So my wife and I and ours friends spent two very comfortable nights here. The location is perfect right across from Charleston harbor and only a short walk to the center of town. It is also attached to an interesting museum that you can visit for no charge, it's included with your stay. Every morning we awoke to a breakfast already prepared for us, by Julie the innkeeper, to enjoy in the privacy of our little apartment. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Carriage House at 21 East Battery for our 20th wedding anniversary and we seriously didn't want to leave! The house is absolutely beautiful! The inn keeper, Julie, was so welcoming and pampered us with delicious treats each day! The location of the house is close enough to walk to all of the amazing Charleston restaurants and attractions but far enough away to be private and quiet. We loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc,United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the carriage house for our honeymoon. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! The carriage house is beautiful and convenient to everything. Julie was so sweet and even provided us with a congratulatory honeymoon cake. We couldn't be happier with the experience, and we will definitely be back next time we visit Charleston. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can not think of a better place to stay to experience this beautiful and historic city. The four of us stayed for three wonderful days in The Quarters and totally enjoyed the experience. The rooms are lovely and immaculate and the location of 21 East Battery could not be better. We parked the car and never used it the whole time we were there. We walked everywhere. It was a peaceful, quiet respite from the busy city outside it's grounds. However, as wonderful as all this is, what makes it work is Julie, the innkeeper, who truly has found her calling. She is the perfect hostess, quietly pampering and taking care of her guests needs. She even went out of her way to accommodate a special need we had regarding check in and tours we had booked. Also, as others have mentioned, the treats were spectacular and so fun to come home to. We have stayed at other top tier hotels in the historic district, but this is where we will return to in the future.....don't hesitate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just loved our stay at 21 East Battery--the Carriage House was so lovely and comfortable. We really felt at home thanks to Julie and her excellent and personal customer service. She and my husband conspired even before we arrived to make the most of Charleston's Restaurant Week and Julie had printed menus and directions waiting for us when we checked in. Although, her cooking was worth staying in for--the banana bread and quiche she made and left for us were delicious! The accommodations were immaculate, and Julie came in (undetected) to tidy up every time we went out. We really felt like welcomed guests in her home!

We loved the location, also. Once we parked the car we didn't get back in it for the rest of our stay. We were able to walk to every attraction that struck our fancy.

We hope to return every year and we'd enthusiastically recommend the Carriage House--and Julie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.