We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Garland, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for our 37th wedding anniversary, and I can't say enough nice things about it. Julie, the innkeeper, is attentive but not intrusive, and she is a great cook and baker! Breakfast each day was left the afternoon before with quick cooking instructions, so we could eat at whatever time suited our schedules. And the beautiful, breezy piazza of the mansion/museum was available to us for coffee or cocktails before and after the first and last tours of the day! We stayed in the quarters, and the accomodations were just lovely--with a great big bathroom! The two nights we stayed followed two nights at the Inn at Middleton Place, also operated by the Middleton Foundation, as part of their Town and Country package. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
122
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

21 East Battery can not be beat! The location is phenomenal, you can smell the salt air and hear the horse carriages right outside your window. You are a quick walk or bike ride to the restaurants, and literally just a few doors down from Battery Park. The old slaves quarters is a fantastic spot to stay - VERY comfortable with absolutely everything you need. Julie, the innkeeper, was amazing! So sweet, personable and an excellent cook. Her breakfasts were fantastic and we loved to see what baked good she had waiting for us each afternoon. Staying at 21 East Battery was a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our family recently stayed in both the units for our daughters graduation. It was perfect for two sets of grandparents and our son. Very clean, nicely decorated and Julie's quiches were great!
The location, right on the battery, was awesome. Many great restaurants within 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time... the location can't be beat. Privacy and close to everything. We spent may hours just on the front porch under the large live oak and enjoying the peace and quiet. Julie was wonderful and managed to keep the place tidy, without disturbing us. We were always excited when coming home to see what goodies had been put out for us. The new bed was wonderful and we both slept really well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful!!! 21 East Battery B&B was all we hoped for and more. It is easy walking distance to everything. The home/museum has lots of southern charm and an amazing history. Loved the tour of the house. We stayed in the quarters. Excellent accomodations. And our hostess Julie was the best. She greeted us on our first day, answered all of our questions, and patiently recommended local places to visit. Her restraunt recommendations were all great choices. And best of all....her breakfast and home baked treats were excellent! Thanks Julie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and 21 East Battery B&B was the perfect place to stay.It is wonderfully convenient to everything. You can very comfortably walk almost anywhere if you so choose. Renting a car however, is good for visiting the plantations.
We were two couples traveling together so the space was perfect. We each had our own bedroom with bath upstairs, and then a shared living room downstairs where we could convene. Julie, our wonderful hostess, provided us with yummy treats every day. She is a great cook, a great gal and also a good source of information on sightseeing, restaurants etc. We were all sad to say good bye to her and Charleston. We highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. Huge rooms in a converted 2 story carriage house, beautifully decorated (plus a baby grand!) in lovely private surroundings. A delicious breakfast was provided every morning by our hostess Julie, who also gave us fabulous home baked goodies.Very highly recommended. Thank you Julie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.