We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Middleton Place Tickets!
Ranked #1 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I and two of our friends stayed in the Quarters on January 22nd and 23rd. We were greeted by a fire in the downstairs fireplace and a spotlessly clean living room. Upstairs were two large bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. The B&B is located a short walk to Broad Street where we picked up the free trolley bus to the center of the historic district. Julie, the innkeeper, was delightful and helpful in every way possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Quarters! The space is perfectly suited for traveling couples! We hope to welcome you back to 21 East Battery again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I brought my girlfriend here for a surprise weekend, and it was a perfect place for her to become my fiance! We stayed in the carriage house, which was beautiful and really felt like a home. The decor is truly amazing and the location is unbeatable, right on the Battery. We loved the homemade treats left by the innkeeper and had a magical weekend. I would recommend this b&b to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The carriage house is definitely worth it if you can snag it. Tons of space and a beautiful buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 21 East Battery B and B for our honeymoon and it was so romantic! The quarters we stayed in were full of character and clean, and there was a fireplace in each room! The Inn Keeper was very friendly and made sure to have complimentary breakfast and goodies in the kitchenette area every day. We loved staying here and recommend it to all couples that want a romantic getaway in Charleston!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took my brother and sister in laws on their first visit to Charleston and stayed here. Everything was perfect starting with the check in and orientation with Julie. Her homemade treats and knowledge of the area sites are second to none. The location couldn't be better on the historic battery within walking distance to everything. I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Kudos to the people at 21 East Battery for a wonderful stay! I couldn't imagine a more fantastic location - the heart of the Battery in the most amazing city. With the fresh-baked treats, a baby grand piano, wireless Internet, delicious quiches each morning, elegant decor and more space than I could ever need - this very well could be the best value in all of Charleston. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second stay in the Quarters and it won't be my last! This is truly a special place whose location can't be beat if you want to be in Charleston's historic district. The B&B is a unique place - beautiful, private, spacious and comfortable. I can't say enough positive things about Julie the innkeeper . She is caring and helpful as well as being a fabulous cook & baker! I've stayed elsewhere in Charleston but this is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We love repeat guests, new guests, all guests! We certainly do have a star within Julie Lucas here at 21 East Battery. Pair that along with fantastic harbor views, off-street parking and an option for a cooked to order breakfast on the piazza (or a private one in your room) and you can simply state star power all the way around! Thank you guest for sharing your insights with potential guests and we look forward to hosting you at 21 East B&B again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wonderful place to stay, Julie is so helpful, the location is right by the ocean in the historical district so we never needed a car. I will definitely stay there again. There are many restaurants nearby. Perfect jogging path along the ocean and close to the Battery.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
The Restoration on King
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.