We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second stay in the Quarters and it won't be my last! This is truly a special place whose location can't be beat if you want to be in Charleston's historic district. The B&B is a unique place - beautiful, private, spacious and comfortable. I can't say enough positive things about Julie the innkeeper . She is caring and helpful as well as being a fabulous cook & baker! I've stayed elsewhere in Charleston but this is my absolute favorite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We love repeat guests, new guests, all guests! We certainly do have a star within Julie Lucas here at 21 East Battery. Pair that along with fantastic harbor views, off-street parking and an option for a cooked to order breakfast on the piazza (or a private one in your room) and you can simply state star power all the way around! Thank you guest for sharing your insights with potential guests and we look forward to hosting you at 21 East B&B again soon! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
106
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay, Julie is so helpful, the location is right by the ocean in the historical district so we never needed a car. I will definitely stay there again. There are many restaurants nearby. Perfect jogging path along the ocean and close to the Battery.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed in the Carriage House for 5 nights, and it was like a dream come true. I have never felt more at home than I did here. The house is very spacious, comfortable and remarkable. Set back in from the street, it was very quiet and private. We loved having our own living space and off-street parking. The location is perfect, we were in walking distance of everything in downtown Charleston. Julie, the innkeeper, is fantastic. There are no words to describe her hospitality. She made our stay absolutely perfect. We loved her baked treats and delicious breakfasts - it was so nice to be able to eat breakfast when we felt like it! She kept our fridge stocked and always made sure we had everything we needed. I don't think I accurately describe how much I absolutely loved this place - it is worth every penny. I honestly can't see staying anywhere else on future trips to Charleston.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is wonderful, spacious and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a weekend with another couple who are dear friends to celebrate their 27th wedding anniversary and the 50th anniversary of the wives' friendship. We could not have chosen a better place to stay! The Quarters was perfect for the four of us and Julie made sure everything was just right. Her breakfasts were so yummy and she even made an awesome red velvet cake as an anniversary gift! We will definitely be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in the quarters for the weekend when we visited Charleston. We chose it because we would be able to walk to downtown, which was even closer and easier to do than we expected. The quarters is a huge "room", much more like a full blown condo. There is a full sitting room and kitchenette on the first floor, beneath the bedrooms and bathrooms. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed. Julie, the proprietor, is fantastic. She took care of my fiancee and I , cooking great quiche and banana bread for breakfast, and pointing us to the great spots to eat in Charleston for all of our other meals. She was extremely accommodating to all of our special requests. I know that 21 East Battery is the first place we will look for availability on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Ct
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Carriage House. When we opened the door we were absolutely overwhelmed with the beauty of our accommodations. Everything about it was amazing. Large sitting area, beautiful dining room, stately staircase to sleeping quarters. Set back from the road. Quiet . Free parking. Refrigerator stocked for our use. Water, juice, snacks and breakfast! Cookies appeared in the afternoon one day and a yummy bundt cake another day. Our hostess was gracious and helpful. Across the street from the water and within walking distance of so much to see and do. It was a perfect setting for a lovely bonding time for Mother, Daughter and Granddaughter!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

21 East Battery B & B was the perfect choice for a surprise birthday celebration. The website just does not do the B & B justice! We occupied the Carriage House and did not realize we would have the entire place to ourselves, and we were also pleasantly surprised to see a Steinway when we opened the french doors! The B & B was spacious and elegant without being stuffy. Parking in Charleston can be a challenge so it was a relief to leave the car parked off street and walk where we needed to go.

21 East Battery B & B has a unique relationship with the Inn at Middleton Plantation and we were fortunate to stay at both. While both locations are connected by history, one is in the heart of Charleston
on the harbor and the other is up the road on the Ashley River surrounded by gardens. So glad we could visit both of them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I'm so happy that you were able to experience the "Town and Country" offering we have available! 21 East Battery encompasses all the history and traditions of Charleston, right down to Julie's home cooked sweets while The Inn at Middleton Place offers a different, natural view of the Low Country next to America's Oldest Landscaped Gardens. Both locations are value packed with admission to the Edmondston-Alston House and Middleton Place, so I hope you were able to take part in both. Please consider us for your next stay in Charleston. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 East Battery, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 21 East Battery B&B is located behind the Edmondston / Alston House Museum on the East Battery of Charleston. It consists of 2 buildings, the former Carriage House, and the "Servant" Quarters of the original estate (circa 1825). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
21 East Battery Hotel Charleston
21 East Battery b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list