We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour but not much Gullah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gullah Tours

Gullah Tours
Charleston, SC
843-763-7551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 163 activities in Charleston
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great tour but not much Gullah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a great time on this informative tour of Charleston. The tour is titled "Gullah" tour but you don't get much Gullah information at all. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the tour anyway. It was more of a "History" of Charleston tour and Phillip Simmons tour. I would recommend this tour and our guide (Alphonzo) was GREAT!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    29
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“TAKE THIS TOUR !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Gullah Tours was a very good tour of Charleston. Mr. Brown (the tour guide) was fun, very informed. He kept the group interested. The tour clean and comfortable temparture.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I chose the Gullah Tour as my way of seeing Charleston. There was a lot of history and interesting facts about the city. The bus was pleasant, Alphonzo the tour guide, is great at what he does.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Fun, fun, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My three friends and I took this tour. We are all speech therapists, so loved the dialect lessons! Very interesting, and a totally new perspecitive of Charleston. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“2nd Time on the Tour ! Love It !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Alphonso is a GREAT tour Guide. Very entertaining and informative ! I took the same tour about 7 years ago. This time I took my husband and he loved it as well. The tour focuses on the Gullah history with an emphasis on Phillip Simmons - one of the great ironworkers of our time ! I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to be entertained and receive a history lesson as well ! Thank you AGAIN Alphonso...It was wonderful !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Tours also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gullah Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullah Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gullah Tours to your Saves list