We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato - CLOSED

Mercato
102 North Market St, City Market, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-6393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A gem of Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We just happened on this place New Year's day and enjoyed it. They had a super nice selection of Champagnes and they were very friendly. The decor is great with a comfortable slightly-trendy look.

Food was awesome!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    171
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Viva la France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is NOT Mercato! They have changed their name and venue. It is now a French restaurant. We have been there 3 times and plan on returning. We are local and enjoy this place.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Great taco place for lunch. Order at least two or you will be sorry. Great drinks and Chips and salsa

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We booked the restaurant the evening we arrived in Charleston. There were ten in our family group...teens to grandparents. The menu was diverse and interesting with a southern flare. Food, service and ambiance was great. All members of the family enjoyed the evening and we would all go back again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mercato has officially closed. Now Brasserie Gigi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Mercato has officially closed and has been transformed into the french cafe, Brasserie Gigi. Check it out! Has a very cool bar with appetizers and cocktails, excellent wine list, great food, excellent service! A nice addition to Market Street!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.