We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and jazz, great combo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato

Mercato
102 North Market St, City Market, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-6393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dinner and jazz, great combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Made reservations based upon a nice place for dinner with live jazz. NOT disappointed! The meal was excellent and the three piece jazz group was awesome. Service was very good and the seating was comfortable. Will absolutely go again!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Mercato. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your evening! The nightly live jazz band creates the perfect atmosphere to relax and enjoy your favorite Italian cuisine. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    170
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant; excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We frequent this restaurant whenever we go to charleston and we always enjoy it. The service is excellent. Atmosphere is good Italian. Nice jazz music as well. Food this time was a little disapointing compared to last visits. Lasagna is usually outstanding but this time it lacked meaningful flavor.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you frequent Mercato during your visits to Charleston. The House Made Lasagna is one of our most popular menu items. It is disappointing to hear that the flavor was less than you expected. Our talented culinary team strives to create each dish with perfect delicious consistency. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure that your next visit is more memorable. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend. A must go especially if you get a little tired of seafood. Other restaurants in the area seem to have the same menu items. This one is different and really good. Portion size are large (we split) and could have split the split! Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic recommendation! Our staff was so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your recent evening at Mercato. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Really Good Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went here partly because it was close to our hotel. We are sure glad we did. Its a small, long and narrow space not unlike many NYC neighborhood eateries. The room is comfortable, the service friendly and relaxed, and the food was very good. Great pastas and other traditional "red sauce Italian" choices. Several seafood items, very nice wines by the glass and great tiramisu. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are thrilled that you found Mercato to have provided such a comfortable and relaxing experience. Our wonderful staff strives to make each guest feel at home. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went to Mercato on September 14. Had a wonderful meal and great service.

The jazz trio was a wonderful addition to our evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful meal and received great service. Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.