We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaraunt worth visiting more than once” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato

Mercato
102 North Market St, City Market, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-6393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting
Transit: Charleston City Marina Transit, the Downtown Trolley, and the Charleston Harbor Resort Trolley all drop off in front of restaurant.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A restaraunt worth visiting more than once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to Mercato about 3 times in our 5 day stay. The Italian food is great and reseaonably priced, the atmostphere is great with half moon booths and the nightly Jazz music is a great touch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your recent experiences at Mercato. It is a huge compliment that you dined with us three times during your stay in Charleston! We look forward to serving you again on your next visit. Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    170
    44
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Mercato. After several days of low country fare, we were in the mood for something different so we enjoyed the change of pace with the italian cuisine. Beautiful restaurant with live jazz downstairs. We ate on the 2nd floor and the music could be heard there as well and was very pleasant. Service was excellent. We would definitely go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for dining at Mercato. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your evening. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My sweetheart & I enjoyed dinner at Mercato on Friday, 12/28/12. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the upstairs dining room. Even though the restaurant was full, and live music was playing downstairs, it was a quiet dining experience. You could actually have a conversation, without yelling across the table or having to repeat everything.

Due to a late lunch, I was not very hungry, and ordered the Margarita Pizza appetizer as my entree ($12.00). It was not the best I’ve ever had, but certainly better than average, and I would order it again. My sweetheart, had the crab salad special and the flounder special ($32.00). He raved about both, and would highly recommend both. For dessert, I had the Dark Chocolate Torte ($8.00). It was supposed to have bourbon in it, but I tasted a distinct orange flavor. Our server said that perhaps the chef had taken his suggestion of adding Grand Mariner. I am a chocoholic, in need of a twelve step program, but I would not order this again. My sweetheart had the Tiramisu ($8.00), which he thought was rather tasteless. He in particular was disappointed with dessert, since his salad and entrée had been so delicious.

Our service was excellent. Corey is very personable, professional, and attentive without being intrusive. I found him to be charming, and just what one would expect to find in a nice restaurant, in an old Southern city, such as Charleston. Each course was perfectly timed, our beverages were routinely refilled, and our check was handled promptly. I would not hesitate to request or recommend Corey.

Mercato was definitely one of our best dining experiences while visiting Charleston.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your recent evening at Mercato. The nightly live jazz creates a fantastic ambiance to enjoy an authentic Italian dinner. We are disappointed that the desserts were not as you expected. They are all made fresh in-house. The Bourbon Chocolate Torta is served with housemade orange gelato and topped with a bit of orange zest to compliment the richness of the flavors. We appreciate your comments regarding the service provided by Corey. He is a valued member of our team. Thank you for the recommendation! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and live jazz....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having made the reservation through Open Table, I indicated my wife and I were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary. We were greeted by our waiter with congratulations, had an excellent dinner while enjoying some nice jazz. We were also surprised to receive complimentary glass of champagne after our meals. Highly recommend the Prince Edward Island mussels and I'm sure any of the Italian entrees. Very good size portions.

Say YES for another meal there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are pleased that you chose to dine at Mercato in celebration of your 26th wedding anniversary. Our beautiful restaurant and live jazz create the perfect atmosphere to enjoy a romantic evening.
We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Perfect Italian Stop in Charleston, SC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We decided to try the Mercato, which is down a few doors from the Planters Inn, but part of the same family. It was wonderful. Not only very romantic, but great jazz music, and the wait staff was wonderful. We made reserv. through Open table. Wine list is very good, and the Italian food was prepared with care, and a wonderful presentation. We loved it all, from the bread, to the salad, soup, and main course.
We would highly recommend this restaurant, and did to a few people, during our stay in Charlston.
You must try, from the great service, to the great atmosphere, to the great food, we loved it all.

Bob and Elizabeth,
San Clemente, CA.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercatoCharleston, Manager at Mercato, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you loved your recent visit to Mercato. Our authentic Italian cuisine is perfectly complimented by the beautiful atmosphere and nightly live jazz. We greatly appreciate your recommendation. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.