We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One hour tour was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Carriage Works

Palmetto Carriage Works
40 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
(843) 723-8145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 163 activities in Charleston
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One hour tour was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The tour people were very nice, the horses were in good condition and looked well cared for.
The tour itself was very informative. The guide was very energetic and humorous.
I recommend this tour just for the experience.
It was raining while we did this tour and not the warmest....they gave us all warm blankets and off we went!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for saying that your carriage tour with Palmetto was great. Also, thank you for saying that our staff was friendly, that your guide was energetic and humorous, but most of all, thank you for noticing the well-being of our animals. Our animals come first and we have super barn hands that take care of them--we all love the animals and do what needs to be done for their benefit.

We appreciate your choosing Palmetto and giving us a 5-star review. We would love to see ya'll again soon.

Deb Jennings
PCW Guest Relations
deb@palmettocarriage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    214
    49
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great historical tour of Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having toured Charleston on foot, my wife and I thought it would be nice to hear more of the history and this was a great way to learn about Charleston. The tour took us to a number of places we'd seen, but to hear more of the story behind the houses and the city put it all into better perspective. Our driver, Bubba, was knowledgeable and answered all our questions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks so much for the "five" rating you gave Palmetto. There is so much to see and do in Charleston and taking one of our carriage tours helps to put a great deal of the history and stories into perspective. With Bubba as your guide, I'm sure you learned some history and heard some great stories.

We really appreciate your choosing Palmetto and would love to see ya'll again.

Deb Jennings
PCW Guest Relations
deb@palmettocarriage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our tour was over one hour and the guide was giving us tidbits of information and facts the whole time. The price was reasonable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank so much for your five star review. Our tour guides are very knowledgeable about Charleston's and South Carolina's histories, so they are very informative and they love to share their information. They are quite entertaining also, we never know what they are going to do next--our guides keep us on our toes!

We really appreciate your choosing Palmetto and we would love to see ya'll again.

Deb Jennings
PCW Guest Relations
deb@palmettocarriage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great way to start our visit to Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived in Charleston on a Friday evening and after perusing tripadvisor forums, decided to use Palmetto for a carriage tour to acquaint us with the city. Matthew and mules Hit and Run were our tour guides. Matthew was wonderful-humorous and very knowledgeable, providing a wealth of information as he took us through the historic district. He was very engaging with our four kids and made sure to keep their interest with various tidbits of history they could understand. The tour gave us a good basis for the rest of our trip, a good mix of history, architecture, parks, and southern gossip. I realize the tour guide is what makes a tour worthwhile or not, and not sure if you have a way to request specific guides, but Matthew was terrific.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
You were so kind to give Palmetto a five star review. Matthew is a wealth of knowledge and what a compliment to him that he kept your four children interested in a history tour! You were so right when you said that a carriage ride is a great way to begin a visit to Charleston. There is so much to do and see here that a carriage tour gives a great introduction and overview of Charleston. Matthew will be so pleased to know that you would not only recommend Palmetto for a carriage tour, but that you would also recommend him as a guide. A little side tidbit, Hit and Run taught Matthew everything he knows!

We really appreciate your choosing Palmetto and we would love to see ya'll again. And if you want Matthew for your guide next time, we will do our best to make that possible.

Deb Jennings
PCW Guest Relations
deb@palmettocarriage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to see Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely afternoon ride through downtown Charleston. The way that the city manages tours- you could go several times and not see the same part of the city( but you won't know that till the bingo ball picks your route!) The history lesson was amazing and our guide had her family, so I feel like we got the "friends and family tour"! Highly recommend this to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peeshCharleston_SC, Guest Relations Manager at Palmetto Carriage Works, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star rating! The City of Charleston has an awesome responsibility managing all of our visitors and our residents, and they do a pretty good job of accommodating everyone--visitors, residents, and businesses. Charleston is full of history and it is amazing how much of that history you are exposed to in just one hour. Our guides are so well-read on South Carolina and Charleston history, they continue to study during their breaks and off-time.

We really appreciate your riding with Palmetto and glad you consider yourself as part of our "friends and family". Thanks for highly recommending us to future guests and we would love to see ya'll again soon.

Deb Jennings
PCW Guest Relations
deb@palmettocarriage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmetto Carriage Works also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Carriage Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Carriage Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palmetto Carriage Works to your Saves list