We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was a little leary based on some not so great reviews, but I have nothing bad to say about this place, other than parking was a pain. Front desk staff was great, very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and spacious, service on the rooms daily left them like brand new, (which is great when you are rooming with three teenage slobs..errr boys. The boys loved the pool, was easy to get to anywhere from here, and the breakfast was great, lots of choices, and lots of food. Internet was good, quick and reliable all three days we were here, which is unusual for a hotel anymore it seems.
No problems, great stay!

Room Tip: we were in the river view on the 6th floor, nice views, no noise problems despite being near a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    149
    80
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We got a good deal on the hotel for 2 nights. Its older but is in a good location. Two lights were out and we needed more towels, but all was rectified when we asked. Our bathroom was small but we made due and the room was a bit dingy. Breakfast was good and there were healthy options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Zvillemommy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The room is small and the bathroom even smaller...so much so it is hard to put ANYTHING on the pathetic attempt at a counter surface. The air conditioner is VERY noisy but even more so starts and stops in an uneven disconcerting way. The desk chair is oversized for such a large room and is set too low for use because it won't fit under the desk otherwise. Yuck!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear teddi b,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Behind on my reviews - stayed here in August of 2013. Highly recommend! New hotel (3-4 yrs I think), very well kept, very friendly accommodating staff. Large eating area for included breakfast buffet. Short walk to catch trolley for going in to historic Charleston which is maybe a 10-15 min ride. We like to stay a little away from the hubub Will definitely stay here when we re-visit Charles, SC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was at the same baseball tournament with the reviewer below, and I agree that this Holiday Inn Express is a very nice hotel. Rebecca (the General Manager) was a tremendous help in accommodating some special room requests that we had before our arrival. Carolyn, Elaine & Mike greeted us with a smile every morning, and kept the breakfast area clean and well stocked. They were a pleasure to see and talk to every morning! The front desk staff was also very welcoming and helpful.

The only thing that put a very big damper on the week for us and for our sons was being accused of disruptions and out-of-control behavior for some incidents that were proven to be caused by another baseball team. Nathan, the Manager, stormed onto the boys' bus upon return from a game, accusing them for a 2nd time before investigating the matter. They were told they would be thrown out of the hotel and that police would be called. Had he done his job, he would've discovered that the guilty parties were a completely different team. All he needed to do was ask his staff members (who were disrespected by the guilty parties for the whole week) or for that matter, he could've just walked down the 4th floor hallway. We stayed down the hall from the members of the Ohio team, and witnessed their outright disrespect for the staff & other guests. But it was easier to believe that the boys from NYC were the guilty ones, I guess. As of today, no apology has been extended to the players or their coach by Nathan, which should have been done as soon as he discovered his terrible mistake.

Despite this incident, I would recommend this hotel based on the wonderful group of staff members (excluding Nathan).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I had a very disappointing stay at this hotel. I wrote up a Trip Advisor review , Nathan the manager responded with an apology. I contacted him and he offered to make sure our next stay would be compensated and a positive experience. So we decided to give it one more try. We were glad we did as the room was very nice, the air conditioner quieter, the fridge actually worked and we were able to sleep. Thank you Nathan for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My stay at this holiday inn was excellent. The room was very comfortable with a nice view of the river. The hotel staff excluding the manager, that accused our team of doing things they didnt do. He needed to investigate a little more before storming our team bus and threatening our boys that he was calling the police on them. Neddless to say it was very upsetting to us parents and our team. That being said, the breakfast crew of carolyn, Elaine, and mike was impeccable. They made the start of each morning bright and enjoyable. They took very good care of us parents and the team. I would absolutely recommend your hotel to friends and family. Hopefully someone will address the matter as to how the manager should proceed with caution before making accusations.

Room Tip: Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.