We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baseball Tournament” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
1 review
“Baseball Tournament”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was at the same baseball tournament with the reviewer below, and I agree that this Holiday Inn Express is a very nice hotel. Rebecca (the General Manager) was a tremendous help in accommodating some special room requests that we had before our arrival. Carolyn, Elaine & Mike greeted us with a smile every morning, and kept the breakfast area clean and well stocked. They were a pleasure to see and talk to every morning! The front desk staff was also very welcoming and helpful.

The only thing that put a very big damper on the week for us and for our sons was being accused of disruptions and out-of-control behavior for some incidents that were proven to be caused by another baseball team. Nathan, the Manager, stormed onto the boys' bus upon return from a game, accusing them for a 2nd time before investigating the matter. They were told they would be thrown out of the hotel and that police would be called. Had he done his job, he would've discovered that the guilty parties were a completely different team. All he needed to do was ask his staff members (who were disrespected by the guilty parties for the whole week) or for that matter, he could've just walked down the 4th floor hallway. We stayed down the hall from the members of the Ohio team, and witnessed their outright disrespect for the staff & other guests. But it was easier to believe that the boys from NYC were the guilty ones, I guess. As of today, no apology has been extended to the players or their coach by Nathan, which should have been done as soon as he discovered his terrible mistake.

Despite this incident, I would recommend this hotel based on the wonderful group of staff members (excluding Nathan).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    157
    88
    21
    14
See reviews for
149
144
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I had a very disappointing stay at this hotel. I wrote up a Trip Advisor review , Nathan the manager responded with an apology. I contacted him and he offered to make sure our next stay would be compensated and a positive experience. So we decided to give it one more try. We were glad we did as the room was very nice, the air conditioner quieter, the fridge actually worked and we were able to sleep. Thank you Nathan for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My stay at this holiday inn was excellent. The room was very comfortable with a nice view of the river. The hotel staff excluding the manager, that accused our team of doing things they didnt do. He needed to investigate a little more before storming our team bus and threatening our boys that he was calling the police on them. Neddless to say it was very upsetting to us parents and our team. That being said, the breakfast crew of carolyn, Elaine, and mike was impeccable. They made the start of each morning bright and enjoyable. They took very good care of us parents and the team. I would absolutely recommend your hotel to friends and family. Hopefully someone will address the matter as to how the manager should proceed with caution before making accusations.

Room Tip: Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Hotel is in a good area, walking distance from many attractions. Small pool, but adequate. You can request a memory foam bed, if available. Free parking for hotel guests. Not great views regardless of room viewpoint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived before check-in; however, Rachel let us store our bags until we returned to check-in. Rachel was friendly, courteous, and all-around a good person during our visit.

This hotel is clean and rooms are nice.
The (free) trolley service to the downtown historic district runs behind the hotel and is convenient. This is a plus because taxi rates into the historic district are high.

Room Tip: The free trolley stops running by the hotel at 8:00pn. If you are not interested in the historic di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The property was in a great location very close to the historic district. It is a spotless pet friendly property. The staff was very helpful. Mike was very polite. There was a great breakfast with many choices. The pool area was nice and there was plenty of parking

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel was older, but nice. It had been updated some. It was in a good location and offered a free breakfast. However, the coffee was out and there were no cups at 6:30 when breakfast began. It took a few minutes to get these things out. The front desk clerks could have been a little more knowledgeable about places to eat close to the hotel. We were not asked about our stay when we checked out. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.