We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first time visiting Charleston and were really looking forward to exploring the town. The lady at the front desk was so rude when we asked her where the best area for dining was. She looked at us like we were stupid, grabbed a map, and circled the ENTIRE peninsula and said "here". As we walked away to our room, we witnessed her treat the next customer with the same level of rudeness and disrespect.
The rooms are disgusting, dirty, dusty, old, and smelly. The hospitality is horrendous, and the location is too far to walk to the historic district, especially at night. STAY AWAY from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you were not provided the highest possible guest service. We will absolutely look into that. We do not consider ourselves within walking distance of the Historic District but rather provide visitors to Charleston an opportunity to be nearby without paying the higher rates of the Historic District hotels. The free DASH Town Trolley also has a stop nearby providing a great way to access the Historic District as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    149
    80
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My sister and I stayed here March 21-24. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out, most especially Jami, Elaine and Carolyn. The free breakfast was fantastic. The rooms were clean. Not walkable to historic downtown for everyone. Trolly is available, however, we drove and parked the car with no trouble at all. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! You are great to mention some of our wonderful staff! We are happy you enjoyed “great value"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick weekend get away with some friends. I must say we were very pleased. The location was great and convenient to the historic area with a Trolly stop right by the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nathan gave us great tips on where to go and eat and was very nice. Our room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CHS-AGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks a lot for taking the time to give the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Ashley River such a wonderful review. Please let us know when you are back in Charleston so we can personally book your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel was less expensive than most others in Charleston as it was quite a ways from downtown. We did walk to downtown a few times and also drove and took the trolley.

Staff was friendly. Mike in the breakfast room was a nice guy. Breakfast was good, lots of coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and recognize Mike! We are happy you enjoyed the location and made use of the Free Town Trolley that picks up just a 2 minute walk from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a basic hotel with solid amenities: decent free breakfast, lots of free parking (they must have listened with earlier reviewers complained about lack of parking because they now have a large overflow lot), free wifi, and fairly large room. Where it excels is the service, which was exceptional. The front desk was professional, helpful and friendly, and special kudos to Mike, the breakfast attendant, who couldn't have been more efficient and helpful. The hotel is located at the far edge of town. If you're a walker, then you'll be able to walk to the visitor center in about 30 minutes. I'd suggest driving, however, since it's a quick (5 or 10 minutes) and easy drive to one of the dozens of parking lots mid-town. Its next to a major medical center and freeway, but we didn't notice any extra noise because of that. We did hear some booms on a Friday night, and looked out the window to see fireworks exploding over the river -- a special treat. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Its nothing fancy, but its a good solid deal in a very expensive city. Oh, and one last thing: I stay in dozens of hotels a year, including very expensive, luxury properties, and this one is in the running for having the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for recognizing our exceptional service and especially Mike in breakfast! We are glad you were able to enjoy the fireworks from just down the street at the Charleston Riverdogs baseball stadium. They happen every Friday night the team is in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very clean and good selection. Jami, Elaine and Monica did a great job. I felt like I was being waited on in a restaurant!!!! Would stay there again for the breakfast. It was also nice to be able to sit outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star Review! We'll be here waiting for you every morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We chose this hotel as a last resort because we had an event to attend in Charleston and waited too late to get our favorite hotel. This hotel was out further from downtown Charleston (not sure why name has "Downtown" in it.. it is NOT in "downtown" ) than we wanted to be, but better than nothing.

Through out our stay, the staff was friendly and acted as if they wanted to help, but on the whole they were useless. When we checked in the desk clerk offered my husband "500 points" in lieu of water bottle and snack. He always chooses that alternative, so he said yes. When we checked our account, we saw that the points were actually 300 not 500. That's fine, that is the normal "welcome" amount, but proves that the front desk didn't know what they were talking about.

We got to our room and I immediately smelled a moldy smell. My husband wasn't as convinced so we sort of ignored it and went out for the night. The next morning we noticed that there were water stains on the bathroom ceiling. Realizing that that is where the smell was coming from, we turned on the fan, closed the bathroom door and reported to the front desk on my way out at 7am. The man at the front desk was very nice and said he'd tell housekeeping. I also told him that my safe was closed and asked if it could be opened so I could use it. He said he didn't know how to open them but would "take care of it'.

Returned to our room at 11 am. Asked the housekeeping staff in the hall if they had been told about the moldy smell in our room. No, they knew nothing about it. We went out for the afternoon hoping something would be resolved when we came back just late afternoon. We arrived to find that nothing had been done. I called the front desk again and this time they sent up a woman from housekeeping who agreed about the mold. She was very helpful. She gave us some spray and called a maintenance man. He came up and was also very helpful and very apologetic. He changed out the ceiling tiles and we hoped the problem was solved.

When we came back from dinner there were water stains all over the new tiles. We called down and told them about the problem. The same maintenance man came back and realized that the bathroom above ours was leaking. We were checking out the next morning so we figured it wasn't our problem after that. A short time later the woman at the front desk called up and said that she and the manager had decided to give us points to equal one night's stay. We thanked them and told them that they should not rent that room until the problem is solved.

Three days after we were home, we still had no points. I called and asked to talk to manager. She was busy, I was told to call back in 30 min to talk to her. I did as asked and her phone went right to voice mail. I left a message. I checked out account an hour or so later before calling back and the points were there so I didn't bother calling back. I however, do not think that we would have ever gotten those points if I didn't call.

The hotel itself is nice. The room we had was very small, but we were not spending a lot of time there so that was not a problem. The air conditioner was very loud. We ended up having to turn it off when watching tv. There was no refrigerator. We had a distant view of the Cooper River Bridge, however otherwise the view was of the highway and McDonalds. There is a lot of sirens and helicopter noise from the hospital, but it wasn't enough to keep us awake. The free breakfast bar is nice and there is over flow seating.

It is too far and not safe (you have to cross 17) to walk to any restaurants or shops. You will have to plan on driving, unless you take the trolley which stops near the hotel. It was not running the day we were at the hotel.

All in all, the hotel is ok. It would be an acceptable place to stay if you are just driving through Charleston. I'm sure that our experience with the ceiling leaks is not common. We weren't wowed by anything during this stay and I think that the front desk staff needs some training in actually carrying through when they promise to do something.

Room Tip: The Ashley River side would have better view than the side that we stayed on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We try to offer our guests value when staying in Downtown Charleston without the prices of the Historic District. If we cannot meet that goal we do our best to make up for it. As Gold Members of IHG Rewards Club, we know how important points are to you. Bonus point assignments at check-in are based on the level of membership, 300 for Gold and 500 for Platinum. I apologize if this was not communicated properly. As well, point assignments can take up to 7 days to show up on your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.