We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan on staying there again if I go back to Charleston (4 1/2 ) !!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Plan on staying there again if I go back to Charleston (4 1/2 ) !!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our experience would have been a 5 but we didn't have local channels until the night before we left. That was no fault of the Front Desk but, of the gentleman who came up and told us it was Comcast and nothing would be done. He never told anyone. I advised Front Desk and it was repaired night before we left. The maid we had Tyronda, didn't do a good job cleaning the room the one day we requested her service. We had to get bags to put in trash cans and room was not dusted. The Breakfast Buffet is excellent and Robin does and outstanding job keeping it full of fresh and hot food. Michael Lockwood keeps the area very clean so you always have a clean table. Charles and Richard went above and beyond to fix our balcony door and when they couldn't, they got us moved into a room with a much nicer view. This happened upon our check in.

Room Tip: We loved the view at the pool because you had an overall nicer view. It can get loud if people decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments about many of our staff members. Thank you for bringing any downfalls to our attention so that we may correct them. We want to earn your 5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    89
    37
    10
    3
See reviews for
88
89
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express 3 times. Since the first time, I have been impressed by the friendliness of the staff. Robin who makes sure breakfast is on time and coffee carafes are filled is cheerful and friendly. She and her co-workers see their role in being helpful broadly. They keep an eye out for the trolley to downtown Charleston that runs by and patiently answer questions that tourists inevitably have. I felt they looked forward to seeing me as much as I looked forward to seeing them on my return visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Miss. Jeanne for your kind words. On behalf of Robin and all the staff, we can't wait to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in, we were told that our pet friendly hotel
was fully commited and we had a handicapped room reserved. I am not sure what they would have done if it actually needed that space. I noticed the room was warm and smelled old. The thermostat did not list
an actual temperature, but seemed to be running. I called the front desk and was told this was the only room left that allowed pets. The AC never worked properly and the room was too dimly lit with low ceilings and low wattage bulbs. Shower head kept falling off of it's base and bathroom had dirty ceiling
panels. Used reward night points for that sad excuse
for a room? Staff was very nonresponsive when given our list of complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I am disappointed to hear of your experience. The maintenance issues you pointed out in that room have been addressed. I apologize you had to encounter those issues during your stay. We do have a limited number of pet rooms and try to accommodate all of our guests. If you would like to contact me at the hotel, I would gladly speak to you about your stay and try to make it right.

Thank you,

Rebecca Ruttiger, General Manager
843-722-4000 x 1909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a wonderful stay overall. The hotel was very modern and updated, rooms were large, complimentary breakfast was delicious, free wifi, relaxing pool area and tons of other amenities.

As a hotel employee, I know how stressful it can be working In the hospitality industry, there are many complaints, phones ringing off the hook, endless check- ins etc... The staff here went above and beyond in every aspect. Becca, Chris, Brian, Liza and Tiffany are all OUTSTANDING in their customer service skills. They gave us directions, local sites, restaurants and places to visit. Chris and Becca even accommodated our request for a room change to a poolside balcony room. Tiffany recommended a wonderful restaurant for us to have dinner. This staff truly expressed me and I found them to be the most important aspect of this property. I would recommend this hotel and love to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are very flattered by your kind words. Our employees are our most important asset. We love to see them recognized. They are the ones that can truly turn your stay into an experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were extremely impressed with the service we received from this hotel. Everyone was very nice and willing to help.

The maintenance gentleman Alfonso was a very hard worker as we witnessed him being very hospitable to everyone he came in contact with. He also fixed our microwave immediately, even going as far as going home to get a surge protector to accommodate our faulty plug. He had the job fixed very quickly and was very diligent in making sure it got done. A great asset to this hotel and worth more than he is probably getting paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our employees, especially Alfonso. We love when our guests recognize individuals as it gives all of us that much more incentive to provide the highest possible service possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at this Holiday Inn Express. I would stay at this place again. The loacation was also excellent. It was just far enough from being downtown. The hotel employees were excellent as well. They were very helpful and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much. We love to provide the value of staying close to the Historic District without sacrificing the high level of service you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wife and I just stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days. Was in town for our 10 year anniversary! Hotel was very clean, staff very nice and helpful! It is easy to get around town and into historic part of town from hotel. Pool is nice and breakfast helps start your day off right! Rooms are modern and everything you need for resting. Would recommend hotel to anyone coming into Charleston! Price is fair as well!!

Room Tip: I had a first floor room that was pet friendly. $25 a night to have my dog come with me! Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to share in your special milestone. We welcome the whole family -- including your fur baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.