We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were extremely impressed with the service we received from this hotel. Everyone was very nice and willing to help.

The maintenance gentleman Alfonso was a very hard worker as we witnessed him being very hospitable to everyone he came in contact with. He also fixed our microwave immediately, even going as far as going home to get a surge protector to accommodate our faulty plug. He had the job fixed very quickly and was very diligent in making sure it got done. A great asset to this hotel and worth more than he is probably getting paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our employees, especially Alfonso. We love when our guests recognize individuals as it gives all of us that much more incentive to provide the highest possible service possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    158
    90
    22
    15
See reviews for
151
146
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at this Holiday Inn Express. I would stay at this place again. The loacation was also excellent. It was just far enough from being downtown. The hotel employees were excellent as well. They were very helpful and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much. We love to provide the value of staying close to the Historic District without sacrificing the high level of service you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wife and I just stayed here for 5 nights and 6 days. Was in town for our 10 year anniversary! Hotel was very clean, staff very nice and helpful! It is easy to get around town and into historic part of town from hotel. Pool is nice and breakfast helps start your day off right! Rooms are modern and everything you need for resting. Would recommend hotel to anyone coming into Charleston! Price is fair as well!!

Room Tip: I had a first floor room that was pet friendly. $25 a night to have my dog come with me! Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to share in your special milestone. We welcome the whole family -- including your fur baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankin, n carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a wonderful room and stay at your facility. Did not expect such a good breakfast. Attentive staff and extended menu of hot foods. Had a parking issue and want to commend the efforts of your security staff, Alfonso. He personally assisted us in finding a safe and secure parking area when your lot was entirely full and escorted us (two ladies) back to the lobby. Wonderful person with a great personality taking pride in his job with a positive attitude. Will definitely recommend your hotel and thank Alfonso again for us for a job well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for recognizing Alfonso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The staff was very friendly,helpful and courteous. I found their breakfast buffet to be great. Fresh prepared food: eggs, bacon, sausage. Fresh fruits: oranges and bananas. The food was always hot and fresh. The staff in the buffet area where friendly. The room was very clean and the beds where firm. The trolley bus stops here to take you downtown. There is no charge for the trolley. The best way to get downtown, if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your accolades. You mentioned some of the great things we are proud to offer our guests; a complimentary hot breakfast, along the DASH free trolley line to the Historic District, and a helpful and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying here for a week while a student at MUSC. They gave me a great rate, so I was afraid I would get a substandard room. Not to worry! I love the room.

Chris at the front desk is wonderful and friendly. I love that the room has a (small) coffee maker, as well as a microwave and refrigerator that come in handy. Bathroom is small but spotless. Breakfast is very good in the mornings.

Overall, very pleased with my stay and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We couldn't ask for better than a "Highly Recommend" from a Trip Advisor Senior Reviewer. We are the perfect location while visiting MUSC as a student or patient. Good luck with your studies at MUSC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We needed a place to stay while we were having some work done in our vacation home. Being pet friendly was a priority. We have stayed in HI Expresses before with mixed reviews, but knew that this one had recently completed a total renovation. So we took a chance.

The staff was very welcoming. The pet charge of $25 was not unreasonable. Our room on the first floor ( all the pet friendly rooms are there) was bright, fresh and felt new. It was not a large room, but adequate for our needs. The colors were calm and soothing. The furnishings were clean, crisp, modern and functional. Good lighting . Lots of outlets which nowadays is very important. Good TV. Bathroom, although small, was clean with lots of thick towels and good quality toiletries. Great shower with adequate water pressure.

Breakfast was better than average for a chain hotel of this type. Lots of cereals, oatmeal, freshly prepared scrambled eggs ( one day there were omelets that were pretty good). A variety of breads, bagels, muffins, biscuits and spreads. They even had a pancake making machine. They could have had a better variety of yogurts. They also featured gorgeous cinnamon rolls which we resisted, but they looked amazing. One day they had sausage patties, the next day, bacon which also looked nice. Plenty of coffee, tea and decaf. Fresh bananas. Much better than the awful canned fruit that shows up at some other places. Better to just not serve that. Nothing to complain about here. The dining room had plenty of seating.

They were quick to offer both AAA or AARP discounts. Also, our king sized bed was very comfortable. I don't know how they did it, but the bed was both firm and soft at the same time with good pillows. The a/c was a bit noisy, but I sleep with earplugs anyway so it was no problem for me.

If you are a tourist visiting Charleston, this hotel is probably more reasonable than those right in town. You will have a very short ride to all the sights. There are some fast food choices nearby. Just drive into town for all the sights and outstanding restaurants that make Charleston the #1 tourist destination in the country according to Conde Nast.

Room Tip: If you are very noise sensitive , stay on a higher floor. But don't travel with a pet because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a comfortable place to stay as a temporary alternative to your own home. We appreciate you thinking of us and we are proud to be a part of the #1 City!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.