We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and commendable staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Frankin, n carolina
1 review
“Great stay and commendable staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a wonderful room and stay at your facility. Did not expect such a good breakfast. Attentive staff and extended menu of hot foods. Had a parking issue and want to commend the efforts of your security staff, Alfonso. He personally assisted us in finding a safe and secure parking area when your lot was entirely full and escorted us (two ladies) back to the lobby. Wonderful person with a great personality taking pride in his job with a positive attitude. Will definitely recommend your hotel and thank Alfonso again for us for a job well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for recognizing Alfonso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    149
    80
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The staff was very friendly,helpful and courteous. I found their breakfast buffet to be great. Fresh prepared food: eggs, bacon, sausage. Fresh fruits: oranges and bananas. The food was always hot and fresh. The staff in the buffet area where friendly. The room was very clean and the beds where firm. The trolley bus stops here to take you downtown. There is no charge for the trolley. The best way to get downtown, if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your accolades. You mentioned some of the great things we are proud to offer our guests; a complimentary hot breakfast, along the DASH free trolley line to the Historic District, and a helpful and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying here for a week while a student at MUSC. They gave me a great rate, so I was afraid I would get a substandard room. Not to worry! I love the room.

Chris at the front desk is wonderful and friendly. I love that the room has a (small) coffee maker, as well as a microwave and refrigerator that come in handy. Bathroom is small but spotless. Breakfast is very good in the mornings.

Overall, very pleased with my stay and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We couldn't ask for better than a "Highly Recommend" from a Trip Advisor Senior Reviewer. We are the perfect location while visiting MUSC as a student or patient. Good luck with your studies at MUSC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We needed a place to stay while we were having some work done in our vacation home. Being pet friendly was a priority. We have stayed in HI Expresses before with mixed reviews, but knew that this one had recently completed a total renovation. So we took a chance.

The staff was very welcoming. The pet charge of $25 was not unreasonable. Our room on the first floor ( all the pet friendly rooms are there) was bright, fresh and felt new. It was not a large room, but adequate for our needs. The colors were calm and soothing. The furnishings were clean, crisp, modern and functional. Good lighting . Lots of outlets which nowadays is very important. Good TV. Bathroom, although small, was clean with lots of thick towels and good quality toiletries. Great shower with adequate water pressure.

Breakfast was better than average for a chain hotel of this type. Lots of cereals, oatmeal, freshly prepared scrambled eggs ( one day there were omelets that were pretty good). A variety of breads, bagels, muffins, biscuits and spreads. They even had a pancake making machine. They could have had a better variety of yogurts. They also featured gorgeous cinnamon rolls which we resisted, but they looked amazing. One day they had sausage patties, the next day, bacon which also looked nice. Plenty of coffee, tea and decaf. Fresh bananas. Much better than the awful canned fruit that shows up at some other places. Better to just not serve that. Nothing to complain about here. The dining room had plenty of seating.

They were quick to offer both AAA or AARP discounts. Also, our king sized bed was very comfortable. I don't know how they did it, but the bed was both firm and soft at the same time with good pillows. The a/c was a bit noisy, but I sleep with earplugs anyway so it was no problem for me.

If you are a tourist visiting Charleston, this hotel is probably more reasonable than those right in town. You will have a very short ride to all the sights. There are some fast food choices nearby. Just drive into town for all the sights and outstanding restaurants that make Charleston the #1 tourist destination in the country according to Conde Nast.

Room Tip: If you are very noise sensitive , stay on a higher floor. But don't travel with a pet because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! It was our pleasure to be able to offer you a comfortable place to stay as a temporary alternative to your own home. We appreciate you thinking of us and we are proud to be a part of the #1 City!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molino, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mom, daughter and I had a girls trip to Charleston and we could not have been more satisfied with your hotel! Being a southerner myself, I look for friendly, courteous and helpful staff when traveling. I know that not everyone makes it easy to respond with that friendly smile 24/7 so just wanted to say how great your staff was! Thanks for adding to our wonderful time in your beautiful city:) Stacy Jacobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Stacy! We appreciate you recognizing our employees. It's easy to provide great service to such wonderful people like yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Renovated hotel in old building with inadequate parking. Comfortable bed but LOUD A/C that ran almost constantly. Housekeeping was the real downfall: found hairs on bathroom floor upon arrival, coffee maker was not serviced (dirty filter pack left behind, no new coffee or cups left), no new laundry bag, no new water cups, no towels at the pool. Experience reminded me why we usually frequent the Hilton properties.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Jennifer A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with our housekeeping services and the room accommodations you received fell below your expectations. We also apologize for the noise challenges you had with your in-room Air Conditioner and any inconvenience you may have experience with our parking facility. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My son had an appointment at MUSC in Charleston, and my husband and I decided to stay in Charleston instead of driving down the day of the appointment. The staff at MUSC gave us a list of hotels and we chose the Holiday Inn Express Downtown-Ashley River. I was not aware that the hotel was pet friendly. I probably would have chosen another property since my son has allergies, and I have a toddler who is not used to dogs. We were on the floor near several animals, and they were quiet and you could not tell there were pets in the room. Our room had a few minor issues but it was things that you had to search for and nothing for us to want to move (sockets that did not work, ac socket pulled from wall). The property is well maintained, and CLEAN. Our room was clean, and our bed was super comfortable. The hotel does not have a shuttle, but there is a taxi service that will take you to downtown and they are reasonable and efficient. Glad we were given the recommendation by the hotel staff. Breakfast was delicious every single day. Robin our hostess made sure that food was always replenished and she was very pleasant. Holly who wore several different hats while we were there, was very helpful and pleasant. Rebecca at the front desk was very helpful when it came to answering any questions we had (how to get to the Mall :) and shuttle service to MUSC). She was a breath of fresh air at the front desk. Shonnekia who serviced our room did an excellent job, and she takes great pride in her job. Harrison made sure all of our needs were met. The staff at this hotel is friendly, and they care about their guests. We would most definitely stay here again, but I would request a higher floor or possibly a suite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
On behalf of all the staff mentioned, we appreciate you choosing our hotel during your visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.