We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not in the historic area but with the free shuttle stopping just outside this is great value. The room was clean and very comfortable and we had a lovely view out to the Ashley River from our balcony. It was great to have a patio door to open, but as the hotel is close to the highway the traffic is noisy. However, we could not hear the traffic with the door closed. Breakfast is better than most free breakfasts. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed the beautiful views of the Ashley River from your walk-out balcony! Sunsets are gorgeous from the river view rooms! The convenience of the free town trolley and complimentary hot breakfast makes for a great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    121
    49
    14
    10
See reviews for
118
108
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband & I wanted to spend some time seeing Charleston. While there are many charming hotels in the historic district, we hate to spend big bucks while hardly in our room. We booked this hotel and it was super! Only about 10 mnutes from the historic district downtown if you drive. There is a free trolley you can ride about a block away that takes you everywhere. Parking can be a problem in Charleston. We loved the hotel. It looked brand new, bright and modern, pretty furniture and drapes, granite bathroom counters...and a very comfortable bed. Plus it was quiet. The included breakfast was better than most, in a pretty dining area. The rooms were a bit smaller, but ok with us. Extremely nice hotel! The Ashley River is down the road and across the street. You can only see it from a park. I would not do the so-called "river views". We were quite happy with our choice of hotels and would recommend it to anyone. We would stay here again if we come back. Charleston is a lovely charming city of the Old South.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Charleston! You mentioned some of the great things about our hotel. We are just a mile and a half from the Historic District and easily accessible by the free town trolley. And free parking! Brand new Great Room with complimentary hot breakfast bar to get your day started. Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently spent three nights at this hotel and was very satisfied with both the service and the accommodations. The Front Desk staff was extremely polite and helpful and I'd like to especially commend Chris, Holly and Harrison.. It was also a pleasure to be greeted each morning at breakfast by Robin, one of the dining room attendants. The food served at the breakfast buffet was above average (though the coffee was a bit pale), and the biscuits were scrumptious! The rooms were clean and the household staff friendly. The beds appeared to be new and were very comfortable. Our rooms had an excellent view of the harbor and the pool area. Also, this hotel is conveniently located, with restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the free shuttle bus which provides access to the shopping areas and other downtown sites. In short, this attractive, moderately priced hotel is an excellent choice for those travelers looking for good value, and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request river/harbor view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. Especially your recognition of our great employees by name! We strive to provide all of our guests the highest possible service combined with the great Holiday Inn Express product that our guests know and love to make an experience to remember. A heartfelt Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is an easy couple minute drive from downtown. Room was clean. Desk staff was very friendly. "River view" room was nice, not much of a view but it is a few blocks away so you can't expect much. Breakfast was good but less variety than other hotels we have visited. Overall it was very nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We couldn't ask for more than a 5 Star Review from a Trip Advisor Senior Contributor! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I found it to be very clean. The staff was friendly and willing to help the guest even with direction. Easy to get to all the sites of Charleston. Entrance was hard to spot at first. Lots of choices on the breakfast menu. For coffee drinkers. The pot in the room only makes one cup. You won't find fresh coffee in the evening in the lobby area either. Bring your own pot if you need more coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston just last week, so I wanted to write this review before I forgot anything.

It was really a pretty ideal hotel experience with just some very minor issues. The rooms were very comfortable, bedding great & extremely clean. My only gripe is that in the bathroom, there is a towel rack directly in front of the sink, where your hips would normally be resting at the sink. It made simple tasks like brushing your teeth harder and other tasks, like putting on makeup or shaving practically impossible. They need a magnifying mirror on the wall, plus removal of that towel bar.

The breakfast was excellent- yogurt, biscuits, eggs & bacon, toasts, a pancake maker, fresh fruit. Way beyond standard fare. There was a 2nd room to eat when the main room got too crowded. It was a great way to start the day.

The staff was extremely friendly and though this is going to sound weird, maybe a bit TOO friendly! You could not enter or exit the hotel without being greeted or called to and it actually was a little annoying after a while and felt kind of forced. I'm sure it's just part of their training, but not necessary.

About a 5 min. walk from the hotel, there is a trolley which is FREE and takes you all around the city. There are a couple of different lines (the hotel will give you a map) but this one takes you to the center of town and then you can transfer depending on where you're going. I think they run about every half hour.

All in all the stay here was really great & I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We encourage our employees to treat our guests as if they were guests in their own home. True Southern Hospitality. We appreciate your 5 Star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff was exceptional, ever ready to help and always saying hello and thanking you for your business. They take great pride in their work and it shows. Hotel is immaculate and smartly furnished. Very comfortable room and well-appointed. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone so long as they're prepared to be a mile or so away from the action of downtown. For the savings, I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CHS-AGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Our staff constantly aims to do just that, go "above and beyond" for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your next arrival on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.