We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Costumer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Costumer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very attentive and helpful. The bed is very comfortable ( no too soft, not too hard). The locating is near by to the historic landmark and downtown. The price was fair compared to other hotels around the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your recognition. We know you have so many choices for lodging in Charleston. Our goal is to deliver a great value to our guests which includes providing the most excellent customer service that all of our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    149
    80
    19
    13
See reviews for
141
136
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Super location - short drive to plantations and walking distance to free trolley to historic downtown. Super clean. Super hospitality and service. Super value- free breakfast and wifi. Super overall experience in a super city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Briarhillave --- YOU are SUPER!!! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has been newly remodeled and is very pretty inside. The king room was fairly small for the price of our stay. No microwave or mini refrigerator were available. I was told that the double queen rooms are the only ones with these amenities. If you are thinking of walking or touring the downtown areas, you will not be able to walk from this hotel. It is about 4-5 blocks from the city center. This a good hotel for a business trip. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Our King bedded rooms do make a wonderful room for the business traveler with the work desk. We attempt to accommodate any guests requiring a mini refrigerator and/or microwave in our two Queen bedded rooms. I am very sorry we did not have one available during your stay to move you. I do hope we have the opportunity to make your next stay GREAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are loyal HIE/IHG guests and usually find them well maintained, nicely appointed and staffed with courtesy personnel. This location was no exception. The staff was great, the room was very nice, and breakfast an added bonus. They accomdated our special request without question. Made our stay that much more enjoyable. This hotel is on the CARTA trolley line with easy/free access to downtown.

Room Tip: New room decors have seen the addition of the "luxury bed" or in other words, 3 feet off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I am so happy we were able to accommodate your special request. We want to do everything possible for our guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay. Thank you for letting us have the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked early and got a great deal on our room. Hotel staff was nice. Rooms were clean. Showers had good hot water and pressure. Beds are firm. Breakfast was ok. We stayed in a room with ajoining doors and could hear our neighbors well. I will make sure we do not get that type of room again. The parking could have been better. We had to park by a curb almost everynight instead of a parking place. They need a much bigger parking lot. Overall it wasnt a bad deal and we would stay there again! You are like 2 minutes from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you Crystal for visiting us! Our parking lot can get quite full. We do our best to manage by limiting to one car per room and no oversized vehicles. We are working on a solution to limit any noise from adjoining doors and appreciate all of our wonderful guests for their feedback. We are very happy that you would choose us again and aim to make it an even BETTER stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed there for a wedding. The hotel is well maintained and has a great staff. They went the extra mile to help us with an issue we had. Cabs and transportation are easily accessable when needed. Close to downtown but not too close.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This recently renovated hotel is well staffed with friendly personnel. Our room was a large, comfortable room in which no noise from the rest of the hotel was noticeable. The included free breakfast was good, with small changes in offerings from day to day. There are several fast food restaurants nearby. The location is good. It is near a major highway, the airport (15 minutes) and downtown Charleston. It would be quite a walk to the center of Charleston. There is a free trolley that will take you downtown during daytime hours, stopping around the corner from the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jimlind,

Thank you so much for your review. You really stated all the great things about our hotel. Our goal will be to get a "5" from your review the next time through :) Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring Street, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.