We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic steakhouse in the South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
17 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-3001 (Charlestowne)
843-722-4220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic steakhouse in the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have lots of experience with NYC steakhouses. This is the best steakhouse I've visited outside of NYC. High quality meat. Excellent service. Intersting Southern accents on the menu. I can't say that this is the best restaurant I've been to in Charleston but it is excellent. I shall return. Also - a high quality wine list with decent pricing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    73
    32
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Vegan at a steak restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I am vegan and my Dad is a steak and potatoes kind of guy so when he visits Charleston to go out to dinner it is kind of hard for us to both decide on a place. But we always do decide on one place, Oak Steakhouse. This time we went the chief made me one of the best vegan meals I have ever had. To top it off he wrote a note saying that it was a pleasure to cook for a vegan. One of the nicest and most accommodating restaurants I have ever been to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rarely do I eat anything other than seafood in Charleston, but I have eaten at Oak a couple of times. The first occasion was irritating for several reasons--much of it having to do with the wait staff. I returned, however, and had a better experience. But I am not sure I care to go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect spot for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went to celebrate our son's graduation from college, and this was the perfect spot! We all had steak--melt in your mouth delicious. Best steak I have ever eaten! The service was excellent(thanks, Jerrod!). And the second floor seating area was very cozy. A great dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Oysters to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Arriving without any reservations, we sat at the bar and enjoyed a drink while we waited for a table in the bar to open up. We ordered 6 Oyster Rockefeller to share along with our small filet with fingerling potatoes. They were amazing, and cooked perfectly!

We enjoyed them so much that night, we went back the next night just to order the Oysters again! We were not disappointed, they tasted as fantastic as they did the previous evening. They were just barely cooked, ( I don't eat raw oysters and these were definitely not raw, but just cooked to perfection). Plump, juicy and delicious.

Reservations are always suggested here, as it is Avery popular eating place in Charleston and also very close to The Battery. It's a busy bar, always hoping and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.