We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
17 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-3001 (Charlestowne)
843-722-4220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a fantastic upscale restaurant in downtown Charleston. The GM and wait staff are all very knowledgable about the food and wine list. The chef is relatively new and his creations are not only beautiful they are a culinary delight. The 16 oz ribeye was heavenly and the desserts were a perfect end to the evening. Features valet parking which is a plus due to the lack of parking in downtown. Will return!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    64
    32
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recommended by hotel staff. Was a good choice. The food and service were excellent. really enjoyed my steak and fried lobster

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Oak for the first time to celebrate a special night about a month ago. Not only was the food the absolute best meal we have ever had, but the experience was by far the best as well. Everyone from our server to the G.M was so attentive and made sure we had a wonderful time. We highly recommend this restaurant and we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super Steaks !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We simply loved our meal at the OAK STEAKHOUSE !! Of course, we had steak and it was prepared as we asked and was tender and delicious. The service was also excellent .
Certainly would go back when we revisit Charleston. Glad we didn't miss this wonderful
restaurant !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great steak, service, food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a great personable waiter, artisanal cheese plate was great of all local cheeses. Ribeye perfect melt in your mouth, smoky cheddar mac and cheese delish. All good, relaxed atmosphere not too loud

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.