We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
17 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-3001 (Charlestowne)
843-722-4220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
Port Lavaca, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful little restaurant and tavern on Broad Street. They serve wonderful hamburger in the bar. They are huge…enough for two to share. Their side orders are amazing from onion rings, bacon mac & cheese, truffle fries and Sautéed Brussels Sprouts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    64
    32
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Friendly Staff, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was traveling alone and had dinner at the bar at the Oak Steakhouse. I had a burger which was both delicious and a great value. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back with my wife for dinner in the main dining room.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love everything about Oak Steakhouse. I love the location, the design, the small, intimate bar and the high ceilings. I love the oysters rockefeller, the truffle pommes frites (wowzers), the lobster mac and cheese, the creamed spinach and ... last but not least, your tender and steaks which are cooked to perfection!

The service is outstanding and I was particularly impressed because we had a large group on New Year's Eve. Not a glitch, not a single one. Thank you for taking such good care of us and for making our special night that much more memorable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Everything, if you dont mind paying the $$$ this is a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Oak; every time I'm in Charleston for business I make sure I have dinner at Oak. All the steaks are wonderful and truffle fries are my favorite. The GM always comes by to check on your experience and ensure you had a wonderful meal. Great Service and Great food what else can you ask for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Most of the "fancy" restaurants in Charleston were a little to pretentious for our casual family taste. But The Oak was very warm and welcoming! We made a last minute reservation, but they worked us in quickly. The food was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The server was knowlegable and prompt. The prices are high, but that's to be expected for the quality of food, preparation and service. So plan to just relax, enjoy the authentic architecture, fabulous food and don't get sticker shock when the tab comes . . . you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.