We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charleston B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Save
You added 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House to your Saves list
15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Charleston B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

You are welcomed to the home by Annelise, who gives you a basic Charleston history lesson before you receive your keys. She is full of helpful suggestions, and if you stay here, I suggest you follow her advice on everything; she and her husband, Jack, are longtime Charlestonians, who are extremely knowledgeable. The accommodations are comfortable, the breakfast is adequate, and the afternoon happy hour is a nice touch. You're within no more than a 30 minute walk from everything you want to see. My wife and I are experienced B and B travelers, and this certainly ranks among the better ones.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor; if you've got heavy luggage, I suggest another floor, because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackandAnnelise, Owner at 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are most appreciative of your kind words on our behalf. Be assured that we enjoyed getting to know you!. Regarding the stairs, we do relate in all of our public communications that there is no elevator (the house is circa 1842) and suggest packing in two small bags rather than one large one. Thank you for pointing this out again to all of our future guests. We look forward to your return.

Jack & Annelise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights in this lovely home but so enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, Jack and Annelise were out of town (and Frannie the dog) BUT their friend Martha was a wonderful hostess. She made us feel right at home and offered up so many great suggestions of things to see and do. We loved coming home to the jar of M&M's on the entry table in the evening. We also got a great kick out of Drifter the cat. He was so friendly and does that boy like to eat! We were on the top floor (no elevator) but we packed fairly light and tried to plan our day so as to limit the trips up and down the stairs. My only minor complaint would be the dim lighting in the bathroom of the room we stayed in (Blue Room). We just pretended we were getting ready by candlelight so it really wasn't that big of a deal. The breakfast was very delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests. It's a good way to get other tips on good restaurants, etc. We enjoyed our dinners at Sermets and Poogan's Porch. We had an early flight the morning we left so we missed the "official" breakfast but Martha was up early and sent us off with muffins and fruit. I can see why this B&B is ranked so high on TripAdvisor. We would gladly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackandAnnelise, Owner at 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words on Tripadvisor! Martha told us what spectacular guests you were and we are so sorry to have missed you. Please come back another time when we'll be here. Regarding the bathroom lighting did you realize that there is a 100 watt overhead bulb as well as the four 40 watt vanity lights for a total of 260 watts of lighting? Perhaps you missed the small dimmer slide on each of the switches. Not sure what happened there.

Jack & Annelise Simmons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast. The hosts were wonderful and very accommodating. There was breakfast served each morning as well as complimentary wine, beer, sodas, and snacks during social hour each evening. The rooms were well kept and very comfortable. The price is affordable and well worth the experience of staying in one of the historical homes right in the middle of everything. Everything is within walking distance and right out the front door to the right is the Battery area. Everyone needs to experience a stay in a Bed and Breakfast at least once. We felt like we were staying with family.

Room Tip: The Blue room is on the third floor. There is no elevator, so if you have an issue with stairs, cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at this lovely, historic bed and breakfast. The hosts are so gracious and accomodating. The breakfast served daily is delicious and very substantial. Jack and Anneliese make sure their guests are comfortable and suggest activities and restaurants to enhance the Charleston experience. The residence is home to 3 precious animals,who love to interact with guests. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone visiting Charleston.

Room Tip: The carriage house is wonderful for 2 couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a great place to stay as far as location and the Charleston Social Hour at 6pm every evening is a very pleasant way to start the night - the hosts are very involved and sit and chat and answer any questions - I loved that the animals were part of the group and not seperated from the guests . If ,however you are allergic or don't like cats and dogs don't stay here .

I read that many of he guests are seasoned B and B travellers as are we - in the US and abroad and I felt that the price was a little high here for the accomodation and the breakfasts . I do expect daily room service, and a little more 'gourmet' breakfast at over $200 a night .

It did not compare with the B and B we just left in Asheville at a similar price point .

On a positive note - we did not have to move the car once it was safely parked behind a locked gate - we could walk everywhere and just got the little bike taxis back after dinner at very reasonable rates .

Room Tip: Don't go on the first floor or street level - you hear all the noise from people walking above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackandAnnelise, Owner at 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
While it is always disconcerting to receive a less than stellar review, it is just as perplexing when guests seem to ignore all of the information we email them as well as that which is on our website. Both areas of communication clearly show pictures of the resident animals, so no pet allergy warnings should be necessary.

As most of our guests prefer extra privacy, upon arrival we point out that we do not enter their rooms unless asked but that we will service the room at any time if they so desire. This is also clearly stated on the house instructions placed on the bed in each room. This couple gave us every indication that they were satisfied with their accommodations, never once asking that their room be serviced as offered both verbally and in print.

The house is authentic Greek Revival, circa 1842, with oriental rugs and period antiques, not an ersatz modern reconstruction. Consequently, the vintage hardwood floors may not be as soundproof as new construction. However, most of the walking above would only be during breakfast hours, thus providing no disturbance at night.

Our breakfast menu was emailed to them August 17, 2013, clearly showing the choices of a full hot breakfast including homemade Hominy Surprise and Crustless Frittatas. (We don’t just throw a doughnut at you!) The morning of their departure we served our special stash of aged Virginia ham which the gent promptly gobbled up before any of the other guests could partake. The same thing happened to a second serving so I fixed a third for all. Obviously “gourmet” is in the eye of the beholder. We provide heart healthy meals without excessive salt or sugar added, and absolutely refuse to offer goopy sauces. (French toast is forbidden!)

Our social hour offers midrange wine and craft beer on tap included in the room rate. During his stay we had local Coast Brewery Kolsch style beer. After pouring him the first glass we gave him free range to refill and he took full advantage of that, imbibing with no restrictions, all at no extra charge.

We remember this couple well as the lady was most attractive and celebrated her birthday here on the Sunday of their departure. We had the honor of making her special “heart” pancakes (using honey, not sugar in the recipe), and we further honored their UK heritage with a display of desk flags on the dining table to include the Union Jack and banners from Wales, Ireland, Scotland.

Regarding value, their accommodations provided a 16 by 20 foot room with private entrance, vintage cypress paneling, heart pine floors, a full en-suite bathroom, and a functional fireplace. For $215 + only 4% tax/night we offer a historic room, full breakfast, wine, beer, soft drinks, snacks, and parking. This is very competitive in Charleston which has become one of the world’s top destinations to visit (and certainly much more reasonable than NYC).


We realize that while it is impossible to please every guest, the preponderance of our reviews indicates we are doing reasonably well. In the South one does not want to be rude or tacky. Hospitality and kindness trump all. This is what we will continue to offer our guests as we have for the past ten years.

Jack & Annelise Simmons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For the last 14 years, my mother, her 'other' daughter (my good friend Dana) and I, have gone away together. This is always a very special weekend for "The Groovy Girls" (as our family calls us) and staying in a wonderful B&B is part of what makes the weekend. This year we went to Charleston and fortunately my friend Dana selected the Phillips-Yates-Snowden House for us for 5 nights!

We all stayed together in the large, comfortable 'Blue Room', on the top floor (featuring two beautiful antique twin beds, a day bed and en-suite with shower. The room has lots of windows and high ceilings. It is bright, airy, and surprisingly easy to regulate the temperature.

Staying at the Phillips-Yates-Snowden house was like being welcomed into Jack and Annelise Simmons' family. They are excellent hosts. The breakfasts were abundant but a good balance of healthy and hearty.

We loved Charleston and the surrounding area, but sitting on the verandah late in the afternoon or after we returned from dinner and chatting with Jack and/or Annelise was every bit as enjoyable. Even the animals are great. This is the B&B to stay at in Charleston: the location is perfect (being 1/2 block from the battery and a quick walk through historic neighbourhoods to the downtown), the food is excellent, the hosts are warm and welcoming, and the rooms have all the elements for a comfortable and restful stay (even comfortable pillows).
I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Charleston and I hope to return.

(As to the walk up two flights to the top floor and our room? It didn't bother my mother and she is 91, and besides you'll need to work off the breakfasts:-))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, ri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Phillips-Yates-Snowden for the long, labor day weekend. We were lucky enough to read all the great reviews they had, and they are all spot on. As many have said already, when you are staying with the Simmons, you feel more like you are staying with longtime family friends not just some B&B. After chatting on the phone and having a glass of wine with them during cocktail hour, we quickly realized how many connections we had with family and friends. Annelise gave great recommendations on things to see, tour guides to use, and places to eat. Jack was just an all-around great host with a glass of locally brewed beer and always a smile on his face. Highly recommend his hominy grits for breakfast.
As far as the accommodations, they are top-notch. Beautiful house, great location, very nice room. Breakfast was perfect every morning.
Really can't think of anything else to say except if my wife and I are ever back in Charleston, this is where we're staying. Highly, highly recommend for anyone visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.