We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Save Saved
You added 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House to your Saves list
15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived very late and very tired on our first night because our train was delayed. Jack took care of us, gave us something to eat and drink and sent us to bed after a few instructions about the place and breakfast. So quiet, beds soooo comfy, we slept like logs every night. Annelise, Jack and Martha were fab hosts. We met their son and his family who were very warm and social, too. Felt like part of the family. We had only booked for two nights but after the first night asked if we could stay two more. So glad we did. My girls loved the place, the family, Martha, Bella the dog and Drifter the cat, who they took for walks. Jack found out my younger daughter was interested in medicine and organised a visit for her at the College of Charleston. Other things: restaurant and tourist attraction recommendations were spot-on and did I mention we slept like logs every night? Want to go back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
142
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing time in Charleston complete with a real bed and breakfast experience. Jack and Annelise were the perfect hosts. We staying in the Cypress Room which was very cozy. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Their home is beautiful and is in walking distance to most attractions. The house was very clean. All of the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. Jack and Annelise treated us as family. When they advertise that "most innkeepers provide a room; we provide an experience", it is so true. We had to stay at another B&B our first night in Charleston because they did not have a room available until the next day. That was just a room. Jack and Annelise provided an experience. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great experience to feel the city a little bit as a resident. The couple Jack and Annelise were hospitable and worried about all! In each detail we feel that! The mood was a warm family home with caring and delicious breakfast. The room we stayed was the cipress room, very confortable, rustic decoration, huge bed and huge space in the room. The bathtub and the shower also is very good and confortable.The house is near from the historic neighborhood, main streets, best bars and restaurants, we went to almost all places walking and that way you are going to see the most beautiful houses you never seen before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After reading several reviews on trip advisor my husband and I along with two old friends decided to stay at Jack and Annelise's beautiful home. Their B&B. is located on a quiet residential street in the historical district. Upon arriving jack warmly greeted us and parked our car in his driveway where it stayed for most of our stay, as you can walk to just about everything from their location. We stayed in the lovely Rose room which was Jack's boyhood room. The room was large, clean and tastefully decorated with a distant view of the harbor. Along with a beautiful bathroom that was equipped with everything you could possibly need our bed faced a working fireplace. Also provided in our room were Duraflame logs, iron, ironing board and a tv. All the comfort of home in a beautiful setting. You could not ask for two more warm and friendly hosts. Jack and Annelise made us feel like old friends. We enjoyed the evening social hour with the two of them and Martha their house manager. They held these social hours on their piazza and living room and served very good French wine along with delicious cheese and crackers. We were able to learn about their charming city as well as tips on what to do and where to eat. Their home was beautifully decorated for the holidays along with a towering Christmas tree which their friendly and well behaved lab, Franny, liked to lay under. Each night during the social hour Annelise had us fill out a breakfast menu for the following morning. We were able to choose the time as well as what we wanted to eat. There were many choices and everything was delicious. I personally enjoyed the Hominy Surprise and the Crustless Frittata. Other choices were numerous: bacon, scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. Plenty of good healthy food to get you off for a day of exploration. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dinning room where you could also meet the other guests. Leanne who served us our breakfast was very friendly and helpful. After spending three nights with Jack, Annelise, Leanne, Martha, Franny and Drifter the cat we felt like we were part of their family. My husband and I have done a good deal of traveling, and I would have to say this was one of the best places we have stayed thanks to our wonderful hosts and the charming city of Charleston.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband, brother and I stayed in the carriage house. It was one of the most comfortable places we have ever stayed. Jack and Annelise Simmons were the most gracious hosts and we felt like family. We are looking forward to our next visit to Charleston just so we can visit with them during breakfast and happy hour. They offered the best suggestions for tours and restaurants, which really added to our total enjoyment of this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everyone at 15 Church Street was wonderfully welcoming. The room had its own fireplace that we used a few nights when it was cold. It was very clean, and the location couldn't have been better. It's right in the historic district, a stone's throw from the battery, down a quiet brick lane. Just an amazing time, with lovely people. The evening happy hour was a highlight. We were welcomed like family, and there was lovely wine and little snacks to eat. Nice breakfast too!

Room Tip: The Rose room, where we stayed, has a lovely view right out the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore-Washington, DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about our experience with Annelise and Jack and their family, friends and feline and canine charges. We felt like family, immediately welcomed into their home, joining in with other guests at breakfast which was ample and served to suit our tastes and schedule. The room we stayed in was comfortable and spacious. Their home is beautifully furnished and the walls are filled with wonderful art ( some of it by their very talented precocious children, who are now full grown). Parking was not a problem, and Jack was able to help us out when it was necessary to move from the street. The location is excellent- you are very close to the park at the end of the peninsula and a pleasant few blocks walk away from many of Charleston's attractions. We had wonderful conversations, learned some Charleston history, and received excellent tips on where to dine and how best to make the most of our time. We also appreciate their eco-friendly policies. We intend to return and are so grateful to have found such warm, kind, gentle hosts whom we now happily count as good friends.

Room Tip: The top room where we stayed provided a view of the grounds and fountain of the not-to-be believed C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.