We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente experiencia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Save
You added 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House to your Saves list
15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelente experiencia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great experience to feel the city a little bit as a resident. The couple Jack and Annelise were hospitable and worried about all! In each detail we feel that! The mood was a warm family home with caring and delicious breakfast. The room we stayed was the cipress room, very confortable, rustic decoration, huge bed and huge space in the room. The bathtub and the shower also is very good and confortable.The house is near from the historic neighborhood, main streets, best bars and restaurants, we went to almost all places walking and that way you are going to see the most beautiful houses you never seen before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
149
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After reading several reviews on trip advisor my husband and I along with two old friends decided to stay at Jack and Annelise's beautiful home. Their B&B. is located on a quiet residential street in the historical district. Upon arriving jack warmly greeted us and parked our car in his driveway where it stayed for most of our stay, as you can walk to just about everything from their location. We stayed in the lovely Rose room which was Jack's boyhood room. The room was large, clean and tastefully decorated with a distant view of the harbor. Along with a beautiful bathroom that was equipped with everything you could possibly need our bed faced a working fireplace. Also provided in our room were Duraflame logs, iron, ironing board and a tv. All the comfort of home in a beautiful setting. You could not ask for two more warm and friendly hosts. Jack and Annelise made us feel like old friends. We enjoyed the evening social hour with the two of them and Martha their house manager. They held these social hours on their piazza and living room and served very good French wine along with delicious cheese and crackers. We were able to learn about their charming city as well as tips on what to do and where to eat. Their home was beautifully decorated for the holidays along with a towering Christmas tree which their friendly and well behaved lab, Franny, liked to lay under. Each night during the social hour Annelise had us fill out a breakfast menu for the following morning. We were able to choose the time as well as what we wanted to eat. There were many choices and everything was delicious. I personally enjoyed the Hominy Surprise and the Crustless Frittata. Other choices were numerous: bacon, scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. Plenty of good healthy food to get you off for a day of exploration. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dinning room where you could also meet the other guests. Leanne who served us our breakfast was very friendly and helpful. After spending three nights with Jack, Annelise, Leanne, Martha, Franny and Drifter the cat we felt like we were part of their family. My husband and I have done a good deal of traveling, and I would have to say this was one of the best places we have stayed thanks to our wonderful hosts and the charming city of Charleston.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband, brother and I stayed in the carriage house. It was one of the most comfortable places we have ever stayed. Jack and Annelise Simmons were the most gracious hosts and we felt like family. We are looking forward to our next visit to Charleston just so we can visit with them during breakfast and happy hour. They offered the best suggestions for tours and restaurants, which really added to our total enjoyment of this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everyone at 15 Church Street was wonderfully welcoming. The room had its own fireplace that we used a few nights when it was cold. It was very clean, and the location couldn't have been better. It's right in the historic district, a stone's throw from the battery, down a quiet brick lane. Just an amazing time, with lovely people. The evening happy hour was a highlight. We were welcomed like family, and there was lovely wine and little snacks to eat. Nice breakfast too!

Room Tip: The Rose room, where we stayed, has a lovely view right out the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore-Washington, DC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about our experience with Annelise and Jack and their family, friends and feline and canine charges. We felt like family, immediately welcomed into their home, joining in with other guests at breakfast which was ample and served to suit our tastes and schedule. The room we stayed in was comfortable and spacious. Their home is beautifully furnished and the walls are filled with wonderful art ( some of it by their very talented precocious children, who are now full grown). Parking was not a problem, and Jack was able to help us out when it was necessary to move from the street. The location is excellent- you are very close to the park at the end of the peninsula and a pleasant few blocks walk away from many of Charleston's attractions. We had wonderful conversations, learned some Charleston history, and received excellent tips on where to dine and how best to make the most of our time. We also appreciate their eco-friendly policies. We intend to return and are so grateful to have found such warm, kind, gentle hosts whom we now happily count as good friends.

Room Tip: The top room where we stayed provided a view of the grounds and fountain of the not-to-be believed C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Md
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at 15 Church St in early November and cannot imagine a warmer or more gracious welcome. I spent 5 wonderful nights in the Cypress room which was immaculately clean and very large. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and while being located on the ground floor surprisingly quiet.

For me visiting Charleston, SC isnt just visiting, its coming home and I could not have made a better choice to enhance that experience than 15 Church Street. Honestly, you cannot imagine a nicer group of people than those that you'll meet here. Often times when staying at smaller inns and B&B's you feel as if you are visiting old friends, but here you actually feel a part of the family! Even the two resident "fur children" do a wonderful job in making you feel at home.

Because they were preparing for a family wedding I was actually privileged to meet several family members, friends, and neighbors. Social hour is a very nice time and gives you the oppty to chat with the other guests, Jack and Annelise and the delightful Martha. It's a very friendly, warm environment without being intrusive.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Charleston! Thank you for a wonderful visit!
J. Elliott

Room Tip: For a great dining experience check out High Cotton on East Bay St and Hominy Grill up past Colonial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose this B&B for a number of reasons. Location, off street parking and good reviews on tripadvisor. Our room was HUGE. We stayed in the Cypress Room which, while not on the top floor offered a private entrance and much privacy. We only had to walk up the stairs for breakfast. The parking is a bit tight but this IS Charleston and that's the way it is. The B&B's location was close to the Battery and within walking distance of the entire historical district if you are even remotely fit. For instance, we walked from the B&B to the water taxi that takes you to the USS Yorktown. We also walked to dinner every night, not concerned about distance or safety.
If there is any downside to 15 Church Street it is the breakfasts. Every day you are given a menu with the same items on it for the following day. I believe there were about 4 dishes to choose from with an additional one added for Sundays. This was a bit of a letdown for us as the choices were very basic and the portions were small. I would equate the breakfasts with what we were served in Fairfield Inn's while traveling to Charleston.
If you are driving to Charleston, please give this B&B a look.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Cypress room. You are alone on the bottom floor and have your own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackandAnnelise, Owner at 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We thank these very nice guests for their thoughtful review. Regarding our breakfasts, we would like to remind future potential guests that while most Charleston B&B’s serve only a continental breakfast, we just do not “throw a doughnut at you” but offer a daily hot breakfast. Being a small B&B and not a commercial hotel or inn, we do have what we consider to be a comprehensive menu of eggs, bacon, homemade crustless frittatas, a Hominy Surprise casserole (Jack’s Mother’s recipe) as well as craft bread (sourdough and whole wheat from California), croissants, bagels, grits, oatmeal, and cereals. Fresh fruit is available with every meal and Jack cooks homemade fluffy Virginia Pancakes every Sunday. He, being a physician, and Annelise, being into good nutrition, do not use processed foods or sugar in the recipes. Instead we substitute honey and serve pure maple syrup as the substance to go with pancakes. While portions are in the eyes and appetite of the beholder, we try to be sensible and can always accommodate a guest who desires more. Please ask. Now, we need to check out those Fairfield Inns!

Jack & Annelise Simmons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.