We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Save
You added 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House to your Saves list
15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
midwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Little Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We recently returned from a week long stay at 15 Church Street. We had a marvelous time in Charleston, and staying with Jack & Annelise was the perfect choice. The house is in a great location, a quiet residential area about a block from High Battery and White Point Gardens. It is within walking distance of everything, even walking to the Aquarium/Fort Sumter boat is a reasonable half hour or so. There is also a (free) trolley stop a few blocks north at Meeting and Broad. We didn't have a car, but everyone else did. If you parked in their driveway, you simply left your keys in the front hall in case someone needed out. It seemed to work fine. There is also free 24 hour parking around WP Gardens. After walking all over the historic area, we were both very glad to be in a quiet area versus the busier parts north of Broad.

The house is a lovely historic home, and Annelise gives a great little history when you arrive. It is an eclectic mix of low country with historic and personal style. We stayed in the Rose Room on the 3rd floor, next to the Blue Room. Our room looked out over rooftops to the harbor. It was very spacious with a lovely attached full bath. The Blue Room also has an attached bath and looks out over the neighborhood rooftops, notably the Calhoun Mansion. Although we were on the third floor, we had no problem going up and down the stairs. Our room was very quiet. I didn't hear anyone coming or going in the morning or night even though the house was full. The only minor downside (for me) was that the huge, lovely windows in the room also meant that the sun streamed in by about 7am. Being away from our dog and toddler, I wouldn't have minded a little later wake time.

We also toured the carriage house, and it looked to be perfect for a family or friends traveling together. There are 2 living areas, one with a half bath. There are 2 modestly sized bedrooms with a jack and jill bath. I saw that pervious posters mentioned the bedrooms were small. They weren't nearly as large as the main house ones, but I would think more than enough for a trip when you are presumably out exploring the city anyway. It also had a private entrance, as does the Cypress Room. Cypress is in the main house, accessible via an entrance under the front steps or stairs inside the house. We didn't see it, but both the couples who passed through it while we were there liked it.

The main living area is spacious, but we didn't use it much. We were out nearly all day, every day. We enjoyed breakfast in the dining room every morning. Though it may not be a grand spread, the "menu" choices are more than enough and quite delicious. Leanne, Annelise, and or Martha were at breakfast each day. Regardless of who prepared it, the meal and conversation was great. The piazza was really nice for relaxing and reading or having a snack. Due to our dinner reservations, we were only able to attend one of the wine & cheese receptions, but it was very nice. Jack and Annelise truly do treat you like an old friend. When we had dinner leftovers, they even shared fridge space with us! They are also very helpful if you're looking for advice on restaurants, tours, or attractions. Martha, the manager, was also around frequently. She was a hoot and also a wealth of information.

We found the style with which Jack and Annelise run the B&B to suit us perfectly. They are beyond welcoming without being intrusive. Annelise and Martha reminded us to simply ask if we wanted the room serviced or linens changed. Even though we were there for a week, we didn't bother with it. I prefer to save on the energy and water, and we both like our privacy. Even when we stay in hotels, we always have the "do not disturb" sign up for the duration of our stay. We were shown where extra towels were if we desired, and the room was stocked with soap, shampoo, makeup wipes, extra tp, a hair drier, etc. They will even wash personal items for you! There was also a laptop on a small desk in the hallway and secure wifi for everyone's use.

Everyone is very accommodating and thoughtful. When booking, I failed to notice that they have a cat. My husband is horribly allergic. The cat never goes to the 2nd and 3rd floors, is not allowed on furniture (nor is the dog), and stays mostly outside. When my husband started to have a reaction, Annelise shared some of her Zyrtec until we could make it to the pharmacy. They also kept the cat outside for the remainder of our stay. I'd also like to point out that the dog was so sweet. Even at breakfast, with bacon and sausage being served, Frannie was extremely laid back and inconspicuous. She's just a sweetheart.

Disregarding the cat allergy, we would love to stay at 15 Church Street again! We had a wonderful time, and we sincerely thank Jack, Annelise, Martha, and Leanne for welcoming us with open arms. Annelise said it best, "this is just the way we live". It clearly is from the moment you walk through the door. We enjoyed every moment of our visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bethlehem, pa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great experience!! This classic Charleston home is located a block off the Battery and ½ block from White Point Gardens. Your walk to anywhere will be through the most charming residential area of Charleston. Jack and Anneliese were marvelous hosts, warmly welcoming us, filling us in on the background of the house and of Charleston. Their recommendations for sights and restaurants were always right on the mark for our inclinations for the day.

Breakfasts, in the beautiful dining room, were delicious, interesting and generous. Our stay included a Sunday, so we were treated to those wonderful light pancakes of Jack’s. The late afternoon/early evening social hours (sometimes on the piazza and other times in the living room) including wine, cheese and crackers or that day’s offering were very relaxing after a busy day out and the perfect lead-in to a lovely stroll through the historic neighborhood to a Charleston restaurant. We enjoyed the conversations, both at breakfast and the social hour, with other guests – from the US, Britain and France when we stayed. Martha, the house manager, has a grand sense of humor and she and the other staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

We stayed in the Cypress Room, on the lower level, which was clean, quite spacious, had a comfortable bed and good chairs for reading (or TV). The décor is more casual than the upper floors but has all its own charm.

We would stay here if in Charleston again and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Jack, Annelise, Martha and Leanne simply enjoy people, and do everything you could expect to make your stay at their home and in their city just a wonderful experience. It truly was like staying with friends. The home is lovely and relaxed -- from the very pleasant sitting and dining rooms, to the great big kitchen and wrap around porches, all places where you can hang out and chat with your hosts and fellow guests, at breakfast or the afternoon social hour, or in between exploring Charlestown which is a great place to visit. As others have said, Jack and Annelise have a wealth of information about things to do, good restaurants, etc., and are glad to help with arrangements. As they say on their website - they are providing an experience -- so true! Oh, and it's a really good location too -- right in the historic residential section - you can walk to everything in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aside the lake in SoCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was a very nice B&B in a relatively quiet area of Charleston. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good but I have had better at other B&Bs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose this b&B based on other reviews and availability. The owners are very organized with prompt correspondence. We booked for two nights and due to an already busy season, we moved from one room to another for our two-night stay. They managed it for us after we left for a day of sightseeing.

The owner helped us park in their driveway (no charge, but a plus in Charleston). We climed the stairs to our third-floor charming room, the Blue Room. The next day, we moved next door to the Rose Room.

Pros: large spacious room, comfy bed, ensuite bathroom, delicious breakfast with new choices each day, convenient location (we walked everywhere) and a lovely side porch where we relaxed each evening and before breakfast.

CONS: stairs to climb (not a problem for us, but...)

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the B&B. The owner was born in this home, it's beautiful and well-maintained. How else can you experience a true Charleston vintage home!

Room Tip: The owners communicate easily via email; if you have needs or questions, just inquire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had an abolutely great time. Jack, Annelise, and Martha (not forgetting Fran and Drifter) made us feel welcome and like we had arrived home. The breakfasts and social hours were wonderful. Jack had even made heart shaped pancakes for our anniversary! It really did feel like we had known them for a long time. The location cannot be beat. You are very close to the water and close enough to the sites, restaurants, and shopping, yet far enough away not to be bothered by crowds. Once you get there you have no need for your car. The bike taxis are fast and inexpensive. They were so nice to talk with that we actually spent over 3 hours at breakfast the day we were leaving. Even explained the awesome tasting "substances". (private joke) I cannot speak highly enough about 15 Church street and we will make this our home the next time we come into town. Thank you Jack, Annelise, and Martha for making our trip to your lovely city so much fun. Mike and Karen

Room Tip: all rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Having just re-read previous reviews I would say " ditto " to all. Highlights were location, hosts Jack, Annalise, Martha and Leanne, southern happy hour, great breakfasts, breezy porches, and comfy. We can see why it was Trip Advisor's number one. We would love to repeat this totally memorable experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.