We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Save
You added 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House to your Saves list
15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Brinklow, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

My sisters & I were looking for a moderately priced bed and breakfast in Charleston that could accommodate all 3 of us in one room. Anyone who has ever stayed in Charleston knows that it is a challenge to find nice accommodations in the historic district at a reasonable price. Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, centrally located near the Battery, met our requirements and so much more. The historic home is beautiful, and our room was spacious and comfortable. But the nicest thing about this B&B is the owners, Annelise & Jack Simmons. The Phillips Yates Snowden House is their home, and it has been in the family for over 60 years. Their guests are treated like friends who have been invited to stay for a while in their home. Even the family dogs - Madeline, Snickers and Pappy - are friendly and welcoming. This is not a place for someone who is seeking luxury and four star white-glove service. But for someone who wants a friendly, comfortable, convenient place to stay at a very reasonable price, this is the ticket.

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — Room not serviced daily
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
149
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our beach wedding. The Simmons were gracious hosts. We stayed in The Carriage House. It was very private and romantic. The food was simply divine!!! The morning of our wedding we were served heart shaped pancakes. A perfect start to our perfect day. We will certainly go back here!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything :)
  • Disliked — Leaving :(
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband secretly planned a trip for the 2 of us for our 15 year wedding anniversary in June. He chose 15 Church Street B&B, Jack and Annelise's home. We couldn't have been more pleased! We were welcomed so warmly, and they even had champagne for us for our anniversary that evening! Jack made dinner reservations for us each night, more complementary champagne at the restaurants, and the best food ever! One morning we accompanied Annelise to find her favorite spot to purchase the sweetgrass baskets!

The house is in a perfect location, everything you need is provided for, within walking distance to all the historic sites, shopping, and Charleston Harbor.

The breakfasts were marvelous, you can choose what you want each morning from a menu the night before. This was our first taste of true Southern Hospitality and we loved it! We truly felt like very special guests in their home!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

My husband and I visited Charleston for the first time. We wanted to stay in a B&B so we could get a up close and personal feel for the city. Jack and Annelise Simmons made us feel right at home. They opened up their house to us, inviting us to join them on the porch for conversations. They recommended restaurants for dinner, their favorites, which we dined at. Wonderful choices. We walked all over the city. Their home is very conveniently located in the historical district. We had a wonderful time in Charleston. Pat and Jack

  • Liked — Great hosts
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

My wife and I went to Charleston for my 30th birthday and stayed here and loved it. I was near the Battery and all the places you really want to go in Charleston. On top of that the hosts were amazing and helped us in finding some of the best places to go to eat and see. I would recommend this place to anyone visting Charleston and if I ever get back this is where I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Jack and Annalise were the most hospitable, friendly people. Their home was gorgeous, and impecably clean. Every night we were invited for cocktail hour and of course, we partook! My husband and I learned so much about Charleston from Jack and Annalise, and from their historic home in itself.

Not only will we go back to Charleston soon to visit the city, which we loved, but to visit 15 Church Street. You couldn't ask for a better location, right in the heart of historic Charleston, and nicer, more knowledgable house guests. We'll be back for sure, but will make sure to book in advance, because I'm sure we're not the only ones who had such a great time!

Zak and Sara

p.s. make sure to take up Jack and Annalises' dinner recommendations, they really know the city, and recommended some great 'local' restraunts that we loved!

  • Liked — The hosts of the Bed and Breakfast, Jack and Annalise
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing was wrong, except we didn't stay longer!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

Of all the many B& Bs we have been to this was the most beautiful and comfortable. Its location is perfect for all the walking tours through town. It is close to the water where you can observe beautiful sunsets. Above all, the owners, Jack and Anneliese Simmons were the most friendly and gracious hosts we have ever met.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.