We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
288 King St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
843 577-0406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 735 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Smoked prime rib on Friday is very good and lighter fare like salads are well prepared, with a friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    144
    103
    37
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“FINE BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Found Jim 'N Nick's BBQ in a shopping complex near our hotel. Drove by one evening and smelled the BBQ from a block away.

We were seated immediately. Our waitress, Haley, was prompt, polite and efficient. She quickly brought us drinks and small cheese muffins.

Our meal arrived quickly. I ordered the combo platter with hot links, baby back ribs, chicken and brisket. TOO MUCH. Lots of left overs. The ribs were tender and came right off the bone. Great smoke rings. The hot links were flavorful and not too hot. The chicken was moist and tender with a flavorful sauce. The brisket was very tender. They offered corn on the co as a side dish. It was a full ear that was fresh and sweet.

If we ever encounter another Jim 'N Nick's we will be sure to stop and dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific food and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When I first walked into Jim N' NIck's my heart sank when I realized it was line up to order - you order, pay, then sit down. I figured it would taste like cafeteria food but I was with two teenagers who wanted to try southern BBQ (we're from Canada). I was totally wrong. The food was great - decently priced and portioned. The service was lovely - nice cold beer or southern iced tea! The BBQ was great and so was the Lemon Icebox Cake. They serve a lot of sides. The two teenage boys wanted to go back again. Highly recommended for good food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, great service, very good barbeque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, clean place. Meats were moist and not fatty, great smokey flavor. We loved the house sauce. Sides were great. The cheese roll/mini-muffins were addicting! Great staff, we will defiantly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Food is very good and the place is fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We read about this place on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a shot. The concept is different, where you go in, order at the counter then sit down and they bring the food. Food came out very fast. All was fresh and hot. Price was more than fair for BBQ. Wasn't the best, but wasn't bad either. The staff were all very, very friendly and fun folks. That lifted my score from a 3.5. They make this place. The ambiance also is fun, it looks like it might have been an old pub or restaurant.

We went with pulled pork, mac n cheese side, fries, a salad and the cheese rolls. You can't go wrong with the cheese rolls which are a combination of corn bread and cheese. Amazing. Meat was tender and juicy and just the right temperature. Not dry and tough to chew. Two sauce choices so make sure which you get -one is very spicy. Mac and cheese is pretty good, I've eaten a lot of this and am a tough critic. Salad was fresh, crisp, came with plenty of cheese, egg, bacon, and was filling.

If you want a fun place to eat, that is going to fill up the family or will be fun with friends, this is it. You could easily feed 4 people for $40 or under and if they leave hungry, it's their fault. This is worth a try. I'd probably eat here again. I went during an off time at 2:30 but I can see where this place like a lot of places in Charleston could easily get packed. There are a lot of seats here, but if its crowded, you know its good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.