We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawthorn Hotel, Charleston SC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2455 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hawthorn Hotel, Charleston SC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for a family reunion. The front desk was rude on the phone as if we were bothering them. Several other family members staying said they had to get someone to clean their room. When we did get the house cleaner to finish up cleaning, she made the bed like a 5 year old. Do better Hawthorn hire people who know how to make beds!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    121
    74
    36
    29
See reviews for
180
100
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It's not easy traveling as a family of 6 but this hotel fit the bill. Spent 3 days in Charleston and since we spent most of the time in the city we had no complaints about the space. The breakfast hit the spot, everyone slept comfortably and the staff was very courteous. We were also close to the beaches and downtown which helped with gas. Will definitely book again if we ever go back to Charleston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I can not say anything about this location personally, however, when I ran a search on stay, park and cruise packages a Trip Advisor Review "“Park and Stay while Cruising from Charleston” Reviewed August 14, 2011" came up. After calling the hotel I was notified this was not true. According to their front desk representative on 6/27 at 0945 you can't leave your vehicle on the property while you cruise, even if you are staying with them before and after, they will tow your vehicle. Not an issue with the property, just a warning to those looking to stay, cruise, and stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

These rooms are TINY! There was no room to open the sofa bed and keep the coffee table in the room. It would have been a fire hazard at best. Furnishings were cheap and flimsy. the shower control was very loose and difficult to control. Although the people were pleasant, the service was horrendous. The sofa bed was broken when we tried to open it in the evening. I was told, upon report the issue, that I couldn't possibly be correct because "all the broken ones were replaced two weeks ago." I know a broken bed when I see one. Ultimately we were able to secure a different room, but I discovered at least a dozen sofa beds stored in the stairwell on the Highway 17 side of the building (in open storage rooms).

Avoid the hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at some other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 2455 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Charleston Hotel Charleston
Hawthorn Suites Charleston
Charleston Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.