We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Hartsville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Always enjoy walking the bridge when we're in Charleston. One doesn't realize how steep this bridge is until you walk it, it is definately a workout. There is an awesome view of the Charleston Harbor from the top. Worth the hike if your up to it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    294
    74
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Candor, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful entry to Charleston, Mt. Pleasant and surrounding areas. Great backdrop for harbor pictures.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Arthur Ravenel Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Love to walk across the Charleston bridge . The views are best at sunset.
Also, fun to participate in the annual Charleston Bridge Run.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“RIDING COUNTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You can walk it! You can jog it! You can sneak up there at night and spray paint your proposal onto the zillion tons of concrete. AND DRIVING COUNTS. That's right. I've never walked it, run it, or spray painted a hint of graffiti on it but I have ridden over it from the Charleston side and the Mt. Pleasant side in and out of rush hour traffic and dull Sunday mornings. It's still THE sight in Charleston. When I go over each time I think of my son-in-law Lt Dan suspended on a rescue rope over the side of the bridge rescuing some nutter gone missing from THE bridge. Whatever your story when you cross the Ravenel Bridge you've been there, done that, and deserve the T-shirt. Just do it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ummm... this is A BRIDGE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm not really sure why I am writing this review - it's just a bridge connecting Charleston to Mount Pleasant. HAHA - Where is the "mountain" and it's not all that "pleasant" over there! Now, I have to explain my sarcasm... my husband drives over this darned thing twice most every day. Once to work and the second time coming home. Sure, this is a pretty thing to look at from downtown Charleston but it's nothing spectacular. As fast as people drive and especially when they combine talking on their phones and/or texting when they are driving, there is no way on God's green earth that I would walk or ride a bike on this structure. I don't care how beautiful the views might be! I've seen lots of beautiful bridges all over the United States and some in other countries. This one is pretty but unless you are participating in the bridge run, I'd stay off of it. Remember, that's just IMHO.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.