We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIDING COUNTS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 98 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“RIDING COUNTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You can walk it! You can jog it! You can sneak up there at night and spray paint your proposal onto the zillion tons of concrete. AND DRIVING COUNTS. That's right. I've never walked it, run it, or spray painted a hint of graffiti on it but I have ridden over it from the Charleston side and the Mt. Pleasant side in and out of rush hour traffic and dull Sunday mornings. It's still THE sight in Charleston. When I go over each time I think of my son-in-law Lt Dan suspended on a rescue rope over the side of the bridge rescuing some nutter gone missing from THE bridge. Whatever your story when you cross the Ravenel Bridge you've been there, done that, and deserve the T-shirt. Just do it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    294
    74
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ummm... this is A BRIDGE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm not really sure why I am writing this review - it's just a bridge connecting Charleston to Mount Pleasant. HAHA - Where is the "mountain" and it's not all that "pleasant" over there! Now, I have to explain my sarcasm... my husband drives over this darned thing twice most every day. Once to work and the second time coming home. Sure, this is a pretty thing to look at from downtown Charleston but it's nothing spectacular. As fast as people drive and especially when they combine talking on their phones and/or texting when they are driving, there is no way on God's green earth that I would walk or ride a bike on this structure. I don't care how beautiful the views might be! I've seen lots of beautiful bridges all over the United States and some in other countries. This one is pretty but unless you are participating in the bridge run, I'd stay off of it. Remember, that's just IMHO.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great view, neat construction. Walking paths as well as drive over. Not sure what else to say...it's a bridge - a nice one. lOL

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This bridge has got to be one of the most (if not the most) beautiful in the country. It has a walking/bike trail (3 miles I believe) and is great for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wow factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

terrific view of Charleston, the river and ocean going into and leaving Charleston. the new bridge with cables is now three lanes and provides views of mount pleasant also. you will also see the aircraft carrier and cruse lines docking.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.