We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the height weary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 108 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for the height weary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After eating our way through charleston we needed to get some exercise and were recommended to walk the bridge. It is very high and there is only a fence keeping you from falling which is why I say it's not for those afraid of heights. Very nice walk/bike lanes and there are some amazing views from the top. I think it's 5 miles across and back so it gives you a workout!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    277
    71
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and Beautiful Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A neat thing to walk over and back if you are in VERY good shape! If not, opt for maybe walking to the mid point and back - still a pretty good trek. It is a beautiful structure. Avoid the walk in the super hot months of late June, July, and August!!! You will get cooked on all the cement!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Remember, This is a Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am not even certain why this is being reviewed. It is the bridge one crosses to enter or exit the city of Charleston. It is a magnificent structure but it is just a bridge. You can walk/run across and there are great views of the harbor but again, it is just a bridge...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Climbing a concrete mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you're interested in a challenge, walk, run or bike this bridge. I think it's 6 miles to & from. If not just walking it will test your leg strength.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After being on the road for days this was a great walk with super views. I recommended walking across.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.