We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge

Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge
Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 98 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is must-do when you're visiting Charleston. Beautiful views from the top of the bridge; an easy, gentle incline to walk. You see so much more walking than you do driving....and it's only about 2-1/2 miles each way. Park on the Mt Pleasant side...free on the road by the gas station, or there are plenty of meters for $.50/ hour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    294
    74
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great walk over and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful day for a beautiful walk over the bridge. A five mile round trip. Very safe with room for walkers, runners and bikers. Great views!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville,NC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charleston should be proud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The bridge is visible from all around Charleston. In a city where there is so much history and so much to see the bridge is truly a jewel in Charleston s crown. Has I am approaching Charleston its the first thing I see and it lets me know I have arrived. The view from and view of it is amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I looked for excuses to go back and forth a few times on this bridge because it was so beautiful. Signs are very clear and the view is wonderful. First exit from Charleston leads to Patriots Point... a must see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I must admit that I enjoyed the "old" Charleston bridges even though they could be terrifying to drive because of people who drive like idiots. But the "new" bridge is a delight, and a great visual as you drive from either side. You sorta get the feeling of "flying" with those beautiful suspension cables. Also, from so many places, the night scene of the bridge is truly beautiful. They Done Good!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.