We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great characteristics and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmer's Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
19 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great characteristics and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Kingsize bed, great characteristically southern room and property, very nicely located and friendly host.

The breakfast is do-it-yourself, but fully loaded. Perfect for the picky (like my girlfriend).

I would like to counter the horrible nasty and inaccurate review on this site. It is a charming most comfortable B&B, not a soulless Hilton.

We would recommend it to every romantic couple, looking for something special and affordable.

Kris and Laura

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for this very nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we also enjoyed meeting you both. Glad you made it safely to your next destination.

We are very lucky to have such a great location, in the middle of the historic district on a quiet street. It makes it easy for our guest to enjoy our city without the hassle of driving or parking.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    16
    17
    7
See reviews for
12
82
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Palmer's Pinckney Inn and had a great experience there. The Inn was mentioned in The New York Times in an article on how to experience Charleston on the cheap and it did not disappoint. The two Innkeepers were extremely helpful and provided us with great recommendations and information. We stayed in the Cottage Room which was charming, clean and well kept. The kitchen was always stocked with snacks and beverages and was tidy as well. We found the Inn to be ideally located in the heart of Charleston within a short walk of the market, restaurants, bars, and many other cultural amenities. We researched several other bed & breakfasts in Charleston and couldn't find anything even remotely close to the reasonable price of Palmer's Pinckney Inn. We were surprised to read some of the negative reviews on this site by a few previous guests; it sounds like many of their expectations were unreasonable for an affordable B&B and they would have been better suited at a high-end hotel or B&B. However, if you're looking for a modest bed & breakfast with value and charm, we would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for this well written and thoughtful review.

We have been working hard to update and maintain this property and with this review we know we are headed in the right direction. Our new staff is up to date on what's going on around town and frequents the area restaurants to be able to give our guest assistance with recommendations and directions.

Charleston has so much to offer, it's hard to have a bad time here. The weekend you visited was a great weekend with our local boy Darius Rucker putting on a great show at the tennis center.

We hope you and your mom will plan a return trip. There's still a lot more to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Charleston, we spent a couple of nights at the Palmer Pinckney Inn. Built in the mid 1800's I don't really think much has changed in the house (plumbing & electricity added of course) which was not an issue for me. The king size bed was very comfortable and the a/c was working hard but didn't cool very well. Luckily we had a ceiling fan and also a small table top fan. If you're looking to be pampered this is not the place for you. As mentioned in previous reviews it is a do-it-yourself breakfast of cereal, coffee, fruit and granola bars. The location is great and it wasn't a problem for me being beside the horse stables. However, I do have two issues which really shouldn't be issues because the staff could easily solve them. First, the ice maker was apparently broken and there were only two ice trays. Staff could easily keep ice in the freezer by purchasing more trays and keeping the ice bin full or simply buy a bag of ice. Second, the shampoo/lotion that was in the bathroom had either been used by another guest and not disposed of or the bottles may have been being refilled and used by multiple guests. Yuck! The bed was made but the towels were not replinished (not a problem) and the trash was not taken out. Personally, if the only thing that's going to be done is to make the bed .......don't bother. Finally,I definately think this was absurd......at the bottom of the receipt in bold print there was a request for a tip with the amount filled in. A tip for what???

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write you review of the property. Since your visit we have made some drastic changes. We have hired a new manager whom has managed 5 star accommodations and has already made positive changes and updates at our property. We are truly sorry for your negative experience and would encourage you to call our new manager to discuss your experience first hand.

We now offer a small breakfast, have wine and snacks available for guest and have painted and updated the property.

There is no excuse for your towels not being replaced and the garbage not being removed, we can promise that if you gave us a chance the experience would be what you expect from a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of the #1 tourist destination in the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Where can I begin...we got there on Friday to a driveway that my car barely could get through. In addition to it being tight, the hedge was overgrown and it scratches the sides of your car. I arrived at 6pm and the keys were waiting outside. The building is unkempt and delapidated. The reception area (small little table in a corner) was empty and the kitchen a hot mess. We stayed in the Bombay room. The room was old, dirty, and HOT because the AC was not working. The sheets were stained and the comforter had white stains on it. (Hate to think what that could have been??) The plastering on the water-damaged, soiled ceiling was partly falling off and there was an AC vent missing. The walls and doors were dingy. Small tub in room, not Jacuzzi tub. We did not turn the jets on. Were afraid what would come out of them. You can sit outside if you like the smell of horse manure because the house is stuck smack in the middle of two of the horse carriage stalls. Called and left message complaining. Walked to the sister B&B they own, Palmer House, and left a written note there about the dissatisfaction. We spent the first three hours of our trip looking for another place to stay but Friday night everything was sold out. The next day, we received a call from Connie, and when we aired our complaints, we were confronted with aggression and defensiveness. She said if we didn't like it we could get in our car and drive back home. 5 minutes later I got a call from Frances Palmer, the owner of the bed and breakfast. She told me that there were rooms available at the Days Inn and that she wanted us to get off her property. She said that I would not be getting a refund since it was a Living Social voucher and that she didn't have anything to do with that and that Living Social had not even paid them. I had no choice to leave and go hunting for a hotel room near by. This place is a dump and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. BEWARE and stay away!! The only nice things about it was Audrey the inn keeper and the cook and his wife at the Palmer House who made the best grits I'd ever tasted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Since this review was posted we have hired a new manager. We have also painted all rooms and common areas and replaced all vents and hardware that was in need or replacement or repair. We were built in the 1800's!

We are located just one block from the Market and there is a horse barn next door, however at no time do we smell horse manure in our rooms.

We offer a small breakfast on-site or for $5 a person, you can go to our sister property and enjoy a full southern breakfast with a view of the Charleston Harbor. There is wine and light snacks available for our guests to enjoy at anytime of day.

I would hope that future guests would contact us directly to voice any negative comments and that we would be very open to suggestions handled in a professional manner and not the manner in which these guest handled their grievances. Disturbing other guest and ruining their experience will not be tolerated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were extremely disappointed by the this inn. Upon arriving, we were told " this is a casual inn. If you want toast, you can make it or if you want cereal we have a selection of boxes in the kitchen." This was not our idea of what a bed and breakfast should offer even on a continental breakfast. The worst part was our room. We were taken to the Bombay Room and the staff member told us this was their nicest room. The best thing about the room was good water pressure in the shower. There were major cracks in every wall, the AC vent in the ceiling was very loose, and looking up from the bed one can see huge brown water stained. The bedding was clean but the floor felt gritty and there was dirt all over the rugs. Our feet were dark brown from walking around barefoot. When we left our room to go to dinner, the foyer door knob came off in my husbands hand. Screws were missing and you could see it was just set back in. There was no staff there to assist. Our room was not inexpensive so was a poor value. Be aware that the in is also located right next to a horse barn for carriage rides and the unpleasant smells of horse manure..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Although some of the recent reviews aren't extremely positive, we had a completely different experience. We really enjoyed our time a the Palmer Pinckney Inn. Being a home that was built in the late 1800's, it has a lot of character. I will agree that the jacuzzi tub is basically a regular tub with jets but we we found it to be very relaxing. Yes, it is nestled between 2 carriage companies and from 7 to 8 in the morning you can hear the carriages getting set for the day, but you do not smell the horses and it was like a natural alarm clock. My only concern with this Inn was with the parking and there is a viable option to that situation. I would not recommend anyone attempting to enter their driveway and park behind the house. I have a Honda Civic and barely made it through the allotted driveway space (backing out after realizing that the lot was full with no room to turn around was nearly impossible) but there is a very nice lot across the street where you can park ($12/day) without any problems so I would suggest that you go to that lot from the start and eliminate any problems or concerns about the driveway. All-in-all, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Palmer Pinckney Inn. It is right in the middle of the historic district and convenient for walking to almost all of Charleston's attractions so I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bombay Room and it was perfect for couples! Comfortable king size, 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room itself was spacious but not exactly clean. The bathroom cramped but adequate. The website says the room has a jacuzzi tub, but it is a regular-sized (small) tub with what look to be some sort of jets (we didn't attempt to turn them on). The website also advertises a continental breakfast. Not to beat a dead horse, because all of the other reviews state this same thing, but it is truely unlike anything I've ever seen. You literally have to hunt around a unkempt, messy kitchen so we didnt even bother. The most unappealing feature of the kitchen are the litter boxes sitting beside the refrigerator. I love cats, but seriously, who wants to see that when you're about to eat breakfast?

I'm not sure when the exterior picture of the inn on the website was taken, but it is deceiving. The place looks like it hasn't been painted in ages and the porch is quite dilapidated. Also, other reviewers mention the horse smell. During the month of June, it is extremely strong so don't even think about sitting on the porch or opening a window.
The worst part of the experience was the snafu with the air conditioning. Being such an old property, there are sure to be issues from time to time, whether it be with the AC, plumbing, etc, but it took a really long time to get it fixed. Bottom line, they've got great deals right now, but beware, because there is definitely a reason for those deals.

Room Tip: Pick a different property all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmer's Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Address: 19 Pinckney Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in the heart of downtown Charleston! Convenient for walking to shopping and dining spots. Pet friendly in every room, Free on site parking! 4 rooms with kings size beds and working fireplaces. All private baths, 2 rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Access to kitchen, continental breakfast, refreshments available. Plus, homemade muffins, cookies and other goodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmer's Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer`s Pinckney Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer's Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.