We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Civil War tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Carriage Works, LLC

Classic Carriage Works, LLC
10 Guignard Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
843.853.3747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 195 Activities in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic Carriage Works, LLC. is Charleston's premier provider of high quality carriage tours and carriage service. We hold our customers, horses and employees in the highest regard - taking the utmost care of each. Our tours are personalized by the tour guides and tailored to the interest of the passengers as questions are asked. Take one of our tours and see the difference!
Latham, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Civil War tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose a Civil War tour for our carriage ride and it could not have been better. Although I cannot remember the guide's name (nice gentleman with a beard), our horse was Elwood (hard to forget that!). We are history buffs, so it was nice to listen to someone with a real knowledge of the Civil War in Charleston. The other nice things is that the carriage itself was not crowded with a lot of people -- but I hope this does not deter the company from continuing the Civil War tours. It was very enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    48
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to explore and discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our horse was Elwood, although I cannot remember our guide. That is unfortunate, since he was so genial, so informative. What an interesting, delightful morning.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Private Tour - District 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We met David and "Elwood" at 9am, and drew the tour of the older section of the city.
Basic routes (there are 3) are assigned randomly by a city employee to assure carriages aren't climbing all over each other, and it seems to work well. David was particularly knowledgeable, having majored in history, and encouraged questions and discussion beyond basic tour guide script. Take advantage of the opportunity to do this that a private tour provides. Coach was very comfortable, absolutely worth the splurge.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lots of personal talk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Greg of Classic Carriages was extremely knoweldgeable, but I would have preferred he share his knowledge of architecture and Charelston history with us rather than subject us to tales of his personal life. The tour itself did not include many of the more beautiful mansions and neighborhoods. It seems that it's luck of the draw in terms of what section of the city these carriages can travel, since there are so many on the roads. I learned more about the business than of the local history. :(

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour guide, very knowledgable and personable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took a carriage tour during our annual " girls weekend." Unfortunately, I cannot remember the lady's name that was our tour guide--but she was wonderful. She has beautiful gray hair and such a friendly way about her. She was very knowledgable, had great little "tidbits" of information that was most informative. If you decide to take a carriage tour--look for her, she's great!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Carriage Works, LLC also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Classic Carriage Works, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Carriage Works, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.