We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Expeditions

Coastal Expeditions
514-B Mill Street, Charleston, SC 29412
8438847684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 195 Activities in Charleston
Type: Tours, Adventure
Activities: Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Expeditions is Charleston's original and premier kayaking, SUP and outdoor outfitter! With over 20 years servicing the Lowcountry, their guides know the creeks, estuaries and rivers that weave through the area better than anyone else, and they can't wait to share their knowledge about the natural and human history that defines Charleston. As the local kayak and charter company for REI Adventures, Backroads International, The Nature Conservancy, US Fish & Wildlife and other groups, you can feel confident that you are choosing a good touring company for your day on the water! Kayaking, Stand-Up Paddleboards, Boat Excursions, Bulls Island Ferry.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife surprised me with a half day kayak trip on Folly Creek through Coastal Expeditions on our 1 year anniversary. It was my wife's first time in a kayak and we both thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The weather was great and the water was calm and relaxing. We were treated to see some wildlife like dolphins and many birds including an Oystercatcher. Our guide Cameron made our time on the water that much more enjoyable. He was fun, informative, and very knowledgeable. I wouldn't hesitate to book a trip with them again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We love that y'all spent part of your anniversary with Coastal Expeditions! Cameron was one of our favorite guides (he's moved on to work for Habitat for Humanity!) and we're glad that the tour was enjoyable.

People often ask what the difference is between a tour and a rental, and basically when you have a good local guide, you see things you've never noticed before. It can really give you a richer experience on the water.

Thanks for the review!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    9
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We rented kayaks from Coastal Expeditions on Folly Beach Road. Had a wonderful time. Went with husband and daughter, 1 solo kayak, 1 tandem kayak 4 hours $86.00. The staff could not have been more helpful. Provided a dry bag ( we put our cell phone in the dry bag), kayak's paddles, life vests and a map of the area. Told us where to go to see dolphins and how far we could get in our 4 hours. We saw lots of dolphins which was REALLY fun. I would recomend this for anyone that can paddle a kayak.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Kayaking on Folly Creek is gorgeous...and when dolphins make an appearance, it's magical. We're so glad that you chose to rent kayaks from us and that you had a good experience.

We hope you'll come visit again!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing but be prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The boat ride to and from the island was amazing and the Captin and First Mate were very informative and pleasant. Seeing the alligators in Alligator Alley was fantastic! Boneyard Beach is a must-see! The shelling is amazing at the Boneyard. But, BRING LOTS of BUGSPRAY! Deep Woods Off only excited the mosquitos! On the way to Alligator Alley and then to the Beach we survived. But on the way back to the pier we ran for our lives from the Mosquitos. They aren't too bad as long as you have on lots of bug spray. I would advise one very strong can of bug spray per 2 people. Also bring plenty of water! At least 2 bottles per person. I would highly recommend the expedition to Bulls Island. The shells are unbelievable, and a camera is a must for the Boneyard and Wildlife. Definatly worth it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Bulls Island Ferry! We totally agree-- this adventure is much more enjoyable when you're prepared. Bulls Island is within a National Wildlife Refuge, and it's definitely wilderness! We're working on an FAQ now that makes sure everyone knows to bring bug spray & water. We appreciate you sharing your experience!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bull's Island - Don't Miss This Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great educational experience thanks to the staff on the boat ride over to Bull's Island and the return. Learned about the barrier islands and the ecosystem and various fish/bird/wildlife. We braved the heat and reported mosquitoes to venture into Alligator Alley and then on to Boneyard Beach, despite the warning it would be a long trek. We had our 18 year old and 13 yo sons and even with our 7 year old daughter with us, it wasn't too long and it was well worth it. Spotted alligators up close and unguarded, was stunned at the beauty of Boneyard Beach. We took the 9 a.m. ferry and left the island with the 4 p.m. ferry. The noon return was too early...however, the 4 p.m. one was a little too late for us. A 2 p.m. pick-up would have been perfect.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for writing about your trip to Bulls Island! We always love to hear that families with kids had a great time on the island.

We understand that the 4 p.m. pick up can sometimes be a little long. As part of our federal contract with U.S. Fisn & Wildlife, we have to stick to the schedule that's posted. Bulls Island is SPECTACULAR in the winter months (fun to hike, no bugs, abundance of birds) and the trip is a little shorter (10 a.m.- 3 p.m.). Maybe we'll see you for one of these off-season trips!

Thanks for the review!

Kari Crolley
Coastal Expeditions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Alovely paddle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went with another experienced kayaking couple and did 3 tours with Coastal.Our guides Gates and Heidi were absolutely terrific. First paddle to Morris lighthouse got us through the lowlands where we paddled with dolphins for some part of the trip. Reached the lighthouse and stayed a while for lunch and paddled back through ever changing tides. Second paddle from Shem Creek and into the harbor was very easy and we got close up to many types of birds as well as the dolphins eating the leftovers from the shrimp boats. Last paddle was into the the river about 1 hour from Charleston. Got to see a few birds and some gators in and along the river. Lazy slow paddle and doable for almost everyone. If you are in Charleston area look up these people and take at least 1 tour

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalEx, Manager at Coastal Expeditions, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We love that you did three distinct trips throughout the Lowcountry! Being on the water like that really lets you get into a rhythm with the creeks/estuaries and your group.

Gates and Heidi are really good guides (and fun to be around!) and we're glad that you chose us for your Charleston adventure!

Kari Crolley
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Expeditions also viewed

 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coastal Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.